Posts     Comments    

Are You Following Me?


Grab My Button

My TBR Pile

Darkfaerietales's to-read book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Word Cloud

ARC Tour Book Expo of America Contemporary Contemporary Romance Contest Winner Convention Deadly Destinations Dystopian Erotic Romance Event Fantastic Fables Fantasy Gena Showalter Giveaway Guest Post Historical Historical Fiction Horror Interview Jennifer Estep Julie Kagawa Movie Mystery New Adult New Releases Paranormal Paranormal Romance Review Richelle Mead Romance RT Convention Science Fiction Spooky Legends Steampunk Supernatural Smack Down Taking Cover Thea Harrison Thriller Trailer Thursday Urban Fantasy Vampires Waiting on Wednesday Winner Young Adult Zombies 12 Days of Christmas (13)
ARC Tour (326)
Artist Alley (9)
Author Spotlight (11)
Author Update (7)
Awards (14)
Blog Tour (75)
Book Haul (8)
Book Talk (6)
Book Trailer (6)
Contest Winner (439)
Conventions (94)
Cover Judge (2)
Dark Faerie Tales Launch (10)
Dark Faerie Tales Team (17)
Deadly Destinations (95)
Discussion (29)
Event (33)
Fall Carnival (37)
Fantastic Fables (89)
Feature Friday (20)
Fifty Shades YA Boys (15)
Giveaway (154)
Graphic Novels (5)
Guest Blogger (7)
Guest Post (140)
Help Wanted (7)
Interview (83)
Mating Games (19)
Movies (31)
New Releases (49)
Pick of six (7)
Poll (1)
Publishing News (10)
Read-a-long (5)
Reading Challenge (25)
Review (1,447)
Spooky Legends (35)
Supernatural Smack Down (71)
Taking Cover (287)
Teaser Tuesday (7)
Television (5)
Trailer Thursday (22)
Video Games (5)
Waiting on Wednesday (31)
Year in the Life of a Romance Review (3)

WP Cumulus Flash tag cloud by Roy Tanck and Luke Morton requires Flash Player 9 or better.

I Belong


Dark Days of Winter Interview: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Sophie JordanDark Days of Winter have come to Dark Faerie Tales! Please welcome Sophie Jordan with her new release Uninvited. It is the first book in her young adult science fiction Uninvited series. Today we have an interview with Sophie about her new book. Stay tuned on Friday for the exclusive book trailer reveal for Uninvited! If you haven’t already checked out our review for Uninvited, please click here to find out our thoughts on this book.

About Sophie:

Sophie Jordan grew up in the Texas hill country where she wove fantasies of dragons, warriors, and princesses. A former high school English teacher, she’s also the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Avon historical romances. She now lives in Houston with her family. When she’s not writing, she spends her time overloading on caffeine (lattes and Diet cherry Coke preferred), talking plotlines with anyone who will listen (including her kids), and cramming her DVR with true-crime and reality-TV shows. Sophie also writes paranormal romances under the name Sharie Kohler.

You can visit Sophie around the web here: Website | Twitter | Facebook

Want to read more from Sophie Jordan?

Firelight Vanish HiddenForeplay Sins of a Wicked Duke In Scandal They Wed Wicked Nights With a LoverWicked in Your Arms Lessons from a Scandalous B... The Earl in My Bed How to Lose a Bride in One ...Too Wicked to Tame Surrender to MeUninvitedA Good Debutante's Guide to...

_________________________________________________________________________________

DD_BloggerGraphic_Uninvited_024Dark Faerie Tales: To start things off would you like to tell us about Uninvited and what inspired you to write it?

Sophie Jordan: One day I was watching some kids play during my toddler’s gymnastics class. This one little boy was always so aggressive. Every week he hurt other kids in the class … and the question popped in my head: “Huh, wonder if that kid is going to be a serial killer? Is this where it begins….”

I was only being half serious with myself, but just like that. Bam! In a blink, the idea for UNINVITED appeared in my head.

I’ve always been fascinated with the nature/nurture argument. Are people born evil or do they become evil? This book explores that.

DFT: In the beginning of the story Davy seems to have the perfect life, but once she finds out she has the kill gene it all falls apart, forcing her to adapt to her new life as an outsider. Was it hard to change her character so drastically throughout the story?

Sophie: That was the hardest part of the story actually. Taking Davy from such an idyllic life and ripping it all away. Coming up with terrible scenarios and then writing how she would react … how these events would affect her and change her. It required a lot of thought … and a lot of rewriting. I’ve never reworked/revised a book so much in my life.

DFT: Sean is the strong and silent type of bad boy, and for the most part we don’t get a lot of his background story. What is your favorite quality about him? Will you reveal more of his background in the next book?

Sophie: Sean is a product of the culture of HTS. He’s known that he’s a carrier almost all his life. He’s more equipped to deal with the stigma than someone like Davy who is just marked positive for HTS. It’s all he has ever known. He’s quiet and strong as a result of that – and I think this is what I admire about him the most. He’s also a realist and he believes in himself … believes that he determines his identity. He doesn’t dwell on the past or his background. Some of which will be revealed, but … well … you’ll have to find out in book 2 … ;)

DFT: In Uninvited you cover some pretty serious issues, like being ostracized or bullied for being different. How hard was it to implement something that kids deal with in everyday life today, in a realistic way?

Sophie: Sadly, being punished for being different is nothing new. It has happened all throughout history and it’s still happening today. Nor is it exclusive to teens. It’s a theme everyone can identify with on some level and at all ages. The hardest part was writing characters doing/thinking ugly things (my protagonist included) and being less than perfect … and telling myself that’s necessary because it’s authentic… it’s truth.

DFT: If it’s possible without spoiling anything, what was your favorite scene to write?

Sophie: My fav scene is a spoiler, so that’s tough. Here’s a hint: it’s when Pollock comes to take her from the Cage … it’s the event follows.

My second fav might be … hm, maybe the night Davy calls Sean for a ride and he comes to pick her up.

DFT: What famous person do you picture when you think of Davy? Sean?

Since, I envisioned Sean strong, muscular and blond, I channeled Chris Hemsworth. My job is rough, I know! ;)

Davy was more vague … I don’t usually see a specific person in my mind for my heroines.

Uninvited

DFT: I wouldn’t say that the ending was a cliffhanger, but it left me eagerly awaiting the sequel. Can you give us any hints as to what is going to happen in the next installment of the series?

Sophie: You will be HUGELY surprised. My best hint that I can give is that you will basically meet a whole new cast of characters. There’s a new character that is every bit as significant to the book as Sean, Gil or Sabine in UNINVITED.

DFT: What can you tell us about other projects you are working on?

Sophie: I’m working on my new adult series right now, the Ivy Chronicles … but I may have a secret projects in the works. Can’t share anything about it yet, except that it is YA.

Quick Fire Questions: (Which do you prefer?)

DFT: Soul mates, triangles, or Star-crossed lovers?

Sophie: Soul mates

DFT: Bad boy, preppy boy, or nerdy boy?

Sophie: Bad boy

DFT: Kick butt heroine, damsel in distress, or a smarty pants?

Sophie: Smarty pants

DFT: E-reader, Hardcover, or Paperback?

Sophie: Dead-tie: e-ereader and paperback

DFT: Writing paranormal, contemporary, or dystopian?

Sophie: I’ve never written a dystopian, so hm … at the moment, contemporary.

_________________________________________________________________________________

Want to read the first five chapters of Uninvited by Sophie Jordan? This week the blogs below are featuring a new chapter every day!

Chapter 1

1/20: Mundie Moms 

Chapter 2

1/21: Jenuine Cupcakes

Chapter 3

1/22: Good Choice Reading 

Chapter 4

1/23: Once Upon A Twilight 

Chapter 5

1/24: A Good Addiction

_________________________________________________________________________________

 Uninvited

Available January 28, 2014 from HarperTeen

About this Book:

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she’s destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

Pre-order from

sig-DFT

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Related Posts with Thumbnails

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


One Response to “Dark Days of Winter Interview: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

  1. pingback:
    1
    Diverging 12 Mocking Vampires | Literary Escapism

    […] Sophie Jordan, author of Uninvited – Dark Faerie Tales […]

«
»