Posts     Comments    

Are You Following Me?


Grab My Button

My TBR Pile

Darkfaerietales's to-read book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Word Cloud

ARC Tour Blog Tour Book Expo of America Contemporary Contemporary Romance Contest Winner Convention Darynda Jones Deadly Destinations Dystopian Erotic Romance Fantastic Fables Fantasy Gena Showalter Giveaway Guest Post High Fantasy Historical Historical Fiction Horror Interview Jennifer Estep Julie Kagawa Movie Mystery Nalini Singh New Adult New Releases Paranormal Paranormal Romance Review Richelle Mead Romance RT Convention Science Fiction Spooky Legends Steampunk Supernatural Smack Down Taking Cover Thriller Urban Fantasy Vampires Waiting on Wednesday Winner Young Adult 12 Days of Christmas (31)
ARC Tour (326)
Artist Alley (9)
Author Spotlight (11)
Author Update (7)
Awards (14)
Blog Tour (181)
Book Haul (8)
Book Talk (15)
Book Trailer (7)
Contest Winner (614)
Conventions (94)
Cover Judge (2)
Cover Reveal (5)
Dark Faerie Tales Launch (11)
Dark Faerie Tales Team (19)
Dating Games (17)
Deadly Destinations (139)
Discussion (35)
Event (42)
Fall Carnival (55)
Fantastic Fables (117)
Feature Friday (20)
Fifty Shades of Book Boys (40)
Fifty Shades of Sensuality (16)
Fifty Shades YA Boys (15)
Friday Reveal (1)
Giveaway (179)
Graphic Novels (5)
Guest Blogger (7)
Guest Post (143)
Help Wanted (10)
Interview (89)
Mating Games (19)
Movies (31)
New Releases (79)
Pick of Six (8)
Poll (1)
Publishing News (14)
Read-a-long (6)
Reading Challenge (25)
Remaking Covers (3)
Remnant Chronicles Read Along (3)
Review (2,072)
Spooky Legends (35)
Supernatural Smack Down (71)
Taking Cover (288)
Teaser Tuesday (7)
Television (5)
Trailer Thursday (22)
Video Games (5)
Waiting on Wednesday (32)
Who Needs A Hero (30)
Year in the Life of a Romance Review (3)

WP Cumulus Flash tag cloud by Roy Tanck and Luke Morton requires Flash Player 9 or better.

I Belong


Early Review: After the End by Amy Plum

After the EndTitle: After the End

Author: Amy Plum

Genre: YA Dystopian

Series: After the End (Book 1)

Publication Date: May 6, 2014

Format: Hardcover, 352 Pages

ISBN-10: 006222560X (HarperTeen)

ISBN-13: 978-0062225603 (HarperTeen)

Reviewed by: Kaitlin

Synopsis:

Michael Grant’s Gone series meets M. Night Shyamalan’s The Village in this riveting story of one girl’s journey to save the very people who have lied to her for her entire life. Amy Plum, internationally bestselling author of the Die for Me series, delivers a fast-paced adventure perfect for fans of Marie Lu and Robison Wells.

Juneau grew up fearing the outside world. The elders told her that beyond the borders of their land in the Alaskan wilderness, nuclear war had destroyed everything. But when Juneau returns from a hunting trip one day and discovers her people have been abducted, she sets off to find them. And leaving the boundaries for the very first time, she learns the horrifying truth: World War III never happened. Nothing was destroyed. Everything she’d ever been taught was a lie.

As Juneau comes to terms with an unfathomable deception, she is forced to survive in a completely foreign world, using only the skills and abilities she developed in the wild. But while she’s struggling to rescue her friends and family, someone else is after her. Someone who knows the extraordinary truth about her secret past.

Quick & Dirty: After the End by Amy Plum explores the journey of Juneau as she struggles to trust and keep her faith while on a quest to save her family. This is an exciting novel with an original plotline.

Opening Sentence: I crouch low to the ground, pressing my back to the ancient spruce tree, and raise my crossbow in one hand.

Excerpt: Yes

The Review:

Juneau is hunting one day when she hears the planes coming. In her clan, after World War 3, her people have been one with the Yara, living in solitude — but when Juneau arrives back she finds her clan has been kidnapped. The Yara is nature, and Juneau has an extreme connection with it, and with that and some tools she sets out on an adventure to set them free. But all is not as it seems. For one, World War 3 never happened . . .  Juneau struggles to understand what she was told was true and what wasn’t, as she and her new companion Miles set off.

Miles is a down-to-earth guy. When a crazy girl who claims to have magical earth powers asks him for help, he does it because his father has been looking for her, and he may be able to get on his good side again if he brings her to him. I liked Miles — he is funny, has an easy to read point of view, and it’s fun to watch as he slowly begins to trust Juneau. Their romance is cute and doesn’t move too fast, so you can see connections starting to form as their relationship deepens.

Most of the time this wasn’t a hard novel to understand. But a few times, with all the different characters claiming different theories, I got confused. And just make sure if you read this you read the top of the new chapters so you don’t accidentally think Miles needs his hair cut to a boylike fashion, as I did once. It took me a page or so before it sank in that I was a dunce and reading from the wrong perspective. As with all the books from multiple POVs, you can never be too careful when seeing which character you’re reading as!

The whole “Yara” was a cool concept. I liked the idea of having a connection with the earth. It isn’t too fantasy-ish to be cheesy, rather it has a certain degree of realisticness, so altogether enjoyable.

After the End has mystery, romance, and betrayal lurking on every page! It is easy to drop into the world of Juneau and slip into her personality. I would recommend this book to anyone who was a fan of Wings by Apprilyne Pike. Although I wouldn’t classify this as dystopian, since really it’s in the modern world, I would still say fans of that genre would enjoy themselves too. This is a quick read with a horribly evil cliffhanger at the end. It’s actually a quite shocking one too. Anyway, check out this book as soon as it comes out!

Notable Scene:

Nothing happens. My heart seizes with despair. I am no longer connected to the Yara. I feel naked. Powerless.

The sound of screeching tires comes from the highway. I turn to see an army-green Jeep with three passengers swerve across the highway from the left lane in order to catch the exit to the gas station.

I take a split second to access my strength against theirs. I have no doubt they are armed. It’s three against one, and I have only my crossbow and a knife. The odds are against me.

I drop Poe, scoop up my pack from where I had set it in the ground next to the car, and leaping over the gas station’s cement barrier, run at full speed into the pitch-black night.

After the End Series:

1. After the End

skull4

FTC Advisory: HarperCollins provided me with a copy of After the End. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

sig-DFT

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Related Posts with Thumbnails


You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Comments are closed.

«
»