Posts     Comments    

Are You Following Me?


Grab My Button

My TBR Pile

Darkfaerietales's to-read book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Word Cloud

ARC Tour Blog Tour Book Expo of America Chloe Neill Contemporary Contemporary Romance Contest Winner Convention Deadly Destinations Dystopian Erotic Romance Fantastic Fables Fantasy Gini Koch Giveaway Guest Post High Fantasy Historical Historical Fiction Horror Interview Jennifer Estep Katherine "Kitty" Katt Series Mystery New Adult New Releases Paranormal Paranormal Romance Patricia Briggs Review Richelle Mead Romance RT Convention Science Fiction Seanan McGuire Spooky Legends Steampunk Supernatural Smack Down Taking Cover Thriller Urban Fantasy Vampires Waiting on Wednesday Winner Young Adult 12 Days of Christmas (31)
Across the Worlds (13)
ARC Tour (326)
Artist Alley (9)
Author Spotlight (11)
Author Update (7)
Awards (14)
Blog Tour (211)
Book Haul (8)
Book Talk (15)
Book Trailer (7)
Contest Winner (645)
Conventions (94)
Cover Judge (3)
Cover Reveal (7)
Dark Faerie Tales Launch (11)
Dark Faerie Tales Team (20)
Dating Games (17)
Deadly Destinations (139)
Discussion (36)
Event (42)
Fall Carnival (55)
Fantastic Fables (117)
Feature Friday (20)
Fifty Shades of Book Boys (40)
Fifty Shades of Sensuality (16)
Fifty Shades YA Boys (15)
Friday Reveal (1)
Giveaway (264)
Graphic Novels (5)
Guest Blogger (7)
Guest Post (143)
Help Wanted (10)
Interview (91)
Mating Games (19)
Movies (31)
New Releases (80)
Pick of Six (8)
Poll (1)
Publishing News (16)
Read-a-long (6)
Reading Challenge (25)
Remaking Covers (3)
Remnant Chronicles Read Along (3)
Review (2,306)
Spooky Legends (35)
Supernatural Smack Down (71)
Taking Cover (288)
Teaser Tuesday (7)
Television (5)
Throne & Court Week (6)
Top Ten of 2016 (7)
Trailer Thursday (22)
Video Games (5)
Waiting on Wednesday (32)
Who Needs A Hero (30)
Year in the Life of a Romance Review (3)

WP Cumulus Flash tag cloud by Roy Tanck and Luke Morton requires Flash Player 9 or better.

I Belong


Early Review: Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White

Illusions of FateTitle: Illusions of Fate

Author: Kiersten White

Genre: YA Fantasy

Series: N/A

Publication Date: September 9, 2014

Format: Hardcover, 288 Pages

ISBN-10: 0062135899 (HarperTeen)

ISBN-13: 978-0062135896 (HarperTeen)

Reviewed by: Bridget

Synopsis:

Downton Abbey meets Cassandra Clare in this lush, romantic fantasy from New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White.

“I did my best to keep you from crossing paths with this world. And I shall do my best to protect you now that you have.”

Jessamin has been an outcast since she moved from her island home of Melei to the dreary country of Albion. Everything changes when she meets Finn, a gorgeous, enigmatic young lord who introduces her to the secret world of Albion’s nobility, a world that has everything Jessamin doesn’t—power, money, status…and magic. But Finn has secrets of his own, dangerous secrets that the vicious Lord Downpike will do anything to possess. Unless Jessamin, armed only with her wits and her determination, can stop him.

Kiersten White captured readers’ hearts with her New York Times bestselling Paranormalcy trilogy and its effortless mix of magic and real-world teenage humor. She returns to that winning combination of wit, charm, and enchantment in Illusions of Fate, a sparkling and romantic new novel perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, The Madman’s Daughter, and Libba Bray.

Quick & Dirty: Illusions of Fate was exactly what I have come to expect when reading something from Kiersten White. It was a fantastic book that was just pure fun!!!

Opening Sentence: Dear Mama, I am most certainly not dead.

Excerpt: No

The Review:

Jessamin moved to the country of Albion to study at a prestigious school. With her dark complexion and stubborn attitude she has never really fit in at her new school, but that doesn’t stop her from being the best. She misses her home country, Melei, terribly but she will never get an opportunity like this again, so she is making the best of her situation. She is working hard at a hotel to make ends meet and spends all of her extra time studying. She doesn’t have time for romance but then she meets the gorgeous, Finn, a mysterious man that is a member of Albion’s nobility.

Finn introduces Jessamin to a side of Albion she never knew existed, one filled with money, power, and surprisingly magic. Finn has some very dangerous enemies and there is a reason he doesn’t make attachments easily. But there is something about Jessamin that he just can’t resist and she is soon caught up in a brewing war that could destroy not only Albion, but also her own home country, Melei.  Will Jessamin be able to outwit her enemies and save everything and everyone she loves before it is too late?

Jessamin is not really an original character, I have met many girls just like her that are smart, compassionate, and have a witty attitude. But it doesn’t seem to matter how many times this type of protagonist is used or how many different variations there are to it, I love it every time. Now that’s not to say that Jessamin doesn’t have her own original take to this staple character because she does, and that made me love her even more. I really liked that she is a minority with her dark skin and dark eyes in a country filled with fair skinned people. It made her stick out but she in no way felt inferior to anyone else and her confidence was addictive. Everyone she would come into contact with was drawn to her and that made me as the reader drawn to her as well. She is a problem solver and even though her life hasn’t been perfect she is always striving to make it better. She is stubborn and has a mind of her own, but she has a kind heart. She is a very well rounded character that I instantly loved.

Finn was a mysterious boy that I fell for right away. He is very smart, but he also has a shy side to him which was really endearing. He is quite the charmer when he wants to be but his life has not been an easy one. There are parts of his past that are heart breaking and he has spent the last few years keeping everyone at a distance, then he meets Jessamin. Their connection is instant and magical. I loved the witty banter they would throw at each other every opportunity they got and they were seriously so cute together. They treat each other as equals and I really liked that. Finn gives Jessamin the respect she deserves and even though he wants to protect her, he lets her make her own choices. Finn was a very swoon worthy guy and he was perfect for the story.

Illusions of Fate is exactly what I have come to expect every time I read a book by Kiersten White. It was filled with adorable romance, gut wrenching humor, engaging characters and swash buckling adventure. From the first page, I was instantly hooked and I loved every minute of this devastatingly beautiful story. I love when a book can make me smile and I can honestly say that I had a smile plastered to my face the whole time I read this. I can’t even count how many times I found myself doubling over with laughter or sighing because I felt so giddy from the romance. The plot was intriguing as well, which just made the whole thing that much better. To sum it up, this book was just pure fun. There hasn’t been a book White has written that I haven’t loved and this is once again another great story from her. She is just one of those staple authors that I can always depend on and I can honestly recommend all of her books to anyone that wants a quick read that is impossible to put down. I can’t wait to see what she comes out with next!

Notable Scene:

“You made it to do with her, though, didn’t you?” Eleanor looks pointedly at the ground where my shadow pools at my feet. “Can I see it? Wiggle around or something. I’ve never actually seen someone shadowed before! It’s so romantic!”

“It is nothing of the sort! It’s…” I glance at Finn, who is avoiding my eyes. “ He was just spying, and…” Romantic? Preposterous. But suddenly I am desperate to understand. “What does it mean? He wouldn’t explain it to me.”

“Open your mouth, Eleanor, and I will cut out your tongue and use it as fertilizer for my personal herb garden.”

“But she should know!” Eleanor whines, pulling my back to the couch across from Finn. “It’s adorable.”

FTC Advisory:  Harper Teen provided me with a copy of Illusions of Fate.  No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

 

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Related Posts with Thumbnails


You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Comments are closed.

«
»