Posts     Comments    

Are You Following Me?


Grab My Button

My TBR Pile

Darkfaerietales's to-read book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Word Cloud

ARC Tour Blog Tour Book Expo of America Contemporary Contemporary Romance Contest Winner Convention Darynda Jones Deadly Destinations Dystopian Erotic Romance Fantastic Fables Fantasy Gini Koch Giveaway Guest Post High Fantasy Historical Historical Fiction Horror Interview Jennifer Estep Katherine "Kitty" Katt Series Mystery New Adult New Releases Paranormal Paranormal Romance Patricia Briggs Review Richelle Mead Romance RT Convention Science Fiction Seanan McGuire Spooky Legends Steampunk Supernatural Smack Down Taking Cover Thriller Urban Fantasy Vampires Waiting on Wednesday Winner Young Adult 12 Days of Christmas (31)
Across the Worlds (13)
ARC Tour (326)
Artist Alley (9)
Author Spotlight (11)
Author Update (7)
Awards (14)
Blog Tour (211)
Book Haul (8)
Book Talk (15)
Book Trailer (7)
Contest Winner (645)
Conventions (94)
Cover Judge (3)
Cover Reveal (7)
Dark Faerie Tales Launch (11)
Dark Faerie Tales Team (20)
Dating Games (17)
Deadly Destinations (139)
Discussion (36)
Event (42)
Fall Carnival (55)
Fantastic Fables (117)
Feature Friday (20)
Fifty Shades of Book Boys (40)
Fifty Shades of Sensuality (16)
Fifty Shades YA Boys (15)
Friday Reveal (1)
Giveaway (250)
Graphic Novels (5)
Guest Blogger (7)
Guest Post (143)
Help Wanted (10)
Interview (91)
Mating Games (19)
Movies (31)
New Releases (80)
Pick of Six (8)
Poll (1)
Publishing News (16)
Read-a-long (6)
Reading Challenge (25)
Remaking Covers (3)
Remnant Chronicles Read Along (3)
Review (2,274)
Spooky Legends (35)
Supernatural Smack Down (71)
Taking Cover (288)
Teaser Tuesday (7)
Television (5)
Throne & Court Week (6)
Top Ten of 2016 (7)
Trailer Thursday (22)
Video Games (5)
Waiting on Wednesday (32)
Who Needs A Hero (30)
Year in the Life of a Romance Review (3)

WP Cumulus Flash tag cloud by Roy Tanck and Luke Morton requires Flash Player 9 or better.

I Belong


Early Review: Between Us and the Moon by Rebecca Maizel

Between Us and the MoonTitle: Between Us and the Moon

Author: Rebecca Maizel

Genre: YA Contemporary Romance

Series: N/A

Publication Date: June 30, 2015

Format: Hardcover, 384 Pages

ISBN-10: 0062327615 (HarperTeen)

ISBN-13: 978-0062327611 (HarperTeen)

Reviewed by: Zed

Synopsis

A luminous YA love story that evokes Judy Blume’s Forever for a new generation.

Sarah—Bean to her friends and family—is an aspiring astronomer and champion mathlete. She lives behind her beloved telescope, with her head in the stars and her feet planted firmly on the ground. For as long as she can remember, she’s also lived in the shadow of her beautiful older sister, Scarlett.

But after a traumatic end to the school year, Sarah goes to Cape Cod for the summer with her family, determined to grow up. It’s there that she meets gorgeous, older college boy Andrew. He sees her as the girl she wants to be. A girl like Scarlett. He thinks she’s older, too—and she doesn’t correct him.

For Sarah, it’s a summer of firsts. Before she knows what’s happened, one little lie has transformed into something real. And by the end of August, she might have to choose between falling in love, and finding herself.

Fans of Jenny Han and Stephanie Perkins are destined to fall for this romantic and heartfelt coming-of-age novel about how life and love are impossible to predict.

Quick & Dirty: A great summer read with a mix of romance, family drama and social awkwardness!

Opening Sentences: “What’s the point of doing all this math just to track a comet?” Scarlett says and squints through the lens of my telescope.

Excerpt: No

The Review:

I love an unusual protagonist and Bean happens to be a genius teenage scientist, with zero social skills and who spends every waking moment tracking the movements of comet Jolie. Bean doesn’t think she’s missing out on anything in her life until her best friend and boyfriend, Tucker, suddenly breaks up with her, claiming she spends all her time watching the world as opposed to living it.

Bean decides to try her own experiment, based on her sister Scarlett’s popularity and charismatic personality. By stepping into Scarlett’s shoes, Bean has a newfound confidence that allows her to stop being Baby Bean, and become the funny, quirky Sarah she wants to be.

This was a fun, lighthearted read, despite some more serious topics like sibling rivalry, alcoholism and dealing with grief. I enjoyed it because I wanted Sarah to be able to recreate herself, I hate the idea that the person you used to be sticks with you forever. People change; it’s a fact of life. But the impressions you make usually stick, which is why the Scarlett experiment is so important to Sarah, because this is her new slate. I also adored the advice her cool Gran gives her:

“You should only give someone what you think they deserve,” Gran says.
“What they deserve?” I ask.
“You are on the inside. Deep in your muscles. That’s you. The body is the extension of you. Only give someone your fingers, your skin, and toes if they deserve to touch your soul.”
“Wow, Gran,” I reply. “You should be silent for a week all the time.”

Andrew is the love interest and I found him to be incredibly sweet. First, I thought he’d turn out to be a bit of a jerk, but I ended up liking him a lot. Whilst reading the book, I kept thinking in my head, ‘tell him now, Bean!’ because I knew there would be heartbreak the longer she left it and humiliating if he found out her true age from someone else! I wished things could have turned out differently but it is what it is. There were a few sexual scenes making me wonder if this book was suitable for younger adults.

Between Us and the Moon is a tale of a bittersweet romance and although I was aware that this romance might not have a happy ending, I still hope it will. I would love to read about Sarah’s story when she goes to college and if she ever meets Andrew again; Rebecca Maizel is surely an author I will be keeping an eye out for.

Notable Scene:

“You’re just really logical, Bean.” This stops me and I freeze. I hear Scarlett in my head: you need to get your head out of the stars once in a while.

I face Tucker again.

“You watch the world. I’m not even sure you live in it,” he says.

skull4

FTC Advisory: HarperTeen provided me with a copy of Between Us and the Moon. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

sig-DFT

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Related Posts with Thumbnails


You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


2 Responses to “Early Review: Between Us and the Moon by Rebecca Maizel

  1. Jennifer @ Dream ReadsNo Gravatar
    1

    Rebecca is my favorite author. I am so excited about this book. I love your review. The way you broke up everything to give us a general feel for the book is awesome. I loved the quotes you used and I can’t wait to read this book. Great review. Thanks for sharing! :)

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  2. ZedNo Gravatar
    2

    Thank you so much for your comment; I’m glad you enjoyed my review. Have a great day!

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
«
»