Posts     Comments    

Are You Following Me?


Grab My Button

My TBR Pile

Darkfaerietales's to-read book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Word Cloud

ARC Tour Blog Tour Book Expo of America Contemporary Contemporary Romance Contest Winner Convention Darynda Jones Deadly Destinations Dystopian Erotic Romance Fantastic Fables Fantasy Gena Showalter Giveaway Guest Post High Fantasy Historical Historical Fiction Horror Interview Jennifer Estep Julie Kagawa Mystery Nalini Singh New Adult New Releases Paranormal Paranormal Romance Review Richelle Mead Romance RT Convention Science Fiction Seanan McGuire Spooky Legends Steampunk Supernatural Smack Down Taking Cover Thriller Urban Fantasy Vampires Waiting on Wednesday Winner Young Adult 12 Days of Christmas (31)
ARC Tour (326)
Artist Alley (9)
Author Spotlight (11)
Author Update (7)
Awards (14)
Blog Tour (194)
Book Haul (8)
Book Talk (15)
Book Trailer (7)
Contest Winner (627)
Conventions (94)
Cover Judge (2)
Cover Reveal (5)
Dark Faerie Tales Launch (11)
Dark Faerie Tales Team (19)
Dating Games (17)
Deadly Destinations (139)
Discussion (36)
Event (42)
Fall Carnival (55)
Fantastic Fables (117)
Feature Friday (20)
Fifty Shades of Book Boys (40)
Fifty Shades of Sensuality (16)
Fifty Shades YA Boys (15)
Friday Reveal (1)
Giveaway (195)
Graphic Novels (5)
Guest Blogger (7)
Guest Post (143)
Help Wanted (10)
Interview (90)
Mating Games (19)
Movies (31)
New Releases (79)
Pick of Six (8)
Poll (1)
Publishing News (15)
Read-a-long (6)
Reading Challenge (25)
Remaking Covers (3)
Remnant Chronicles Read Along (3)
Review (2,111)
Spooky Legends (35)
Supernatural Smack Down (71)
Taking Cover (288)
Teaser Tuesday (7)
Television (5)
Throne & Court Week (6)
Top Ten of 2016 (1)
Trailer Thursday (22)
Video Games (5)
Waiting on Wednesday (32)
Who Needs A Hero (30)
Year in the Life of a Romance Review (3)

WP Cumulus Flash tag cloud by Roy Tanck and Luke Morton requires Flash Player 9 or better.

I Belong


Early Review: The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

The Murder ComplexTitle:  The Murder Complex

AuthorLindsay Cummings

Genre: YA Dystopian

Series: The Murder Complex (Book #1)

Publication Date: June 10, 2014

Format: Hardcover, 400 Pages

ISBN-10: 0062220004 (HarperTeen)

ISBN-13: 978-0062220004 (HarperTeen)

Reviewed by: Kaitlin

Synopsis:

The Murder Complex is an action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision. The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or is it part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family? This is a dark and compelling debut novel that will appeal to fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Quick & Dirty: The Murder Complex is intense, dark, and very engaging, but lacks in the romance aspect.

Opening Sentence: It is the key to survival, the key to life.

Excerpt: No

The Review:

Meadow lives controlled. Nothing she does or says isn’t heard by the harsh government that rules over this dystopian landscape. Human populations are growing fast, with no food and shelter for them, and in order to survive the people of the Shallows listen. But Meadow is about to learn something that changes her life and other’s lives — forever.

Before I say anything else, I have a complaint. Meadow? What kind of name is that for a trained killer? It says on the cover she is trained to survive, but honestly this girl murders without any doubts. I don’t know, it might have been a cute name if it fitted her personality, looks, even if there was a story behind it, but sadly there was not. I’ll give you this; it was definitely unique. Zephyr is a good name, and I do think it fits him.

This novel had some obvious flaws, other than the name. I’ll get to those later, though, and tell you now that this was incredibly engaging. I read during lunch, after school, and into the night, finishing in a day. When I thought it was getting boring, something new would pop up and I’d be compelled to turn the page. Anyway, that’s the happy stuff, but unluckily, I did have a problem with the romance aspect. I look for a relationship that develops slowly and surely, but with this, for Meadow, one day it’s bam! I’m in love with you. For Zephyr, it was simply the same thing, except way before Meadow. The change was so sudden, to unexpected, and it was like a switch was thrown.

Peri, Meadow’s little sister, was adorable. She represented the loving, compassionate side of Meadow sometimes hidden by her ruthless methods. Koi was a great character too, just not as sweet and lovable as Peri, Koi being the brother. If you liked Prim from The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, come join me in celebrating Peri’s pure, angelic personality. To do that, you’ll have to read the book first!

This book, while very exciting and action filled, had a fast developing love story and a lot of gore. Considering that Meadow one chapter thinks of breaking someone’s neck as “a satisfying crunch” you see my point. This is not for the fainthearted. It resembles the Hunger Games in a lot of ways, but not too much as to be a copy. Looking back on it, I am glad that I read this story and I will remember it pleasantly, but that whole Meadow/Zephyr love story was not my favorite. I’m really excited for this book to come out because I know people will love it, though!

Notable Scene:

I focus on my work.

That is, until the Wards come in.

I look up and see their faces. Filthy. Sunken cheeks.

The line moves forward enough for the Initiative officers to close the doors behind the first group. The sunlight disappears. I look up.

There,standing at the back of the line, is a boy.

Zephyr.

The Murder Complex Series:

0.5 The Fear Trials (May 27, 2014)

1. The Murder Complex (June 10, 2014)

skull4

FTC Advisory:  Greenwillow Books/HarperCollins provided me with a copy of The Murder Complex. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

sig-DFT

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Related Posts with Thumbnails


You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Comments are closed.

«
»