Posts     Comments    

Are You Following Me?


Grab My Button

My TBR Pile

Darkfaerietales's to-read book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Word Cloud

ARC Tour Blog Tour Book Expo of America Chloe Neill Contemporary Contemporary Romance Contest Winner Convention Deadly Destinations Dystopian Erotic Romance Fantastic Fables Fantasy Gini Koch Giveaway Guest Post High Fantasy Historical Historical Fiction Horror Interview Jennifer Estep Katherine "Kitty" Katt Series Mystery New Adult New Releases Paranormal Paranormal Romance Patricia Briggs Review Richelle Mead Romance RT Convention Science Fiction Seanan McGuire Spooky Legends Steampunk Supernatural Smack Down Taking Cover Thriller Urban Fantasy Vampires Waiting on Wednesday Winner Young Adult 12 Days of Christmas (31)
Across the Worlds (13)
ARC Tour (326)
Artist Alley (9)
Author Spotlight (11)
Author Update (7)
Awards (14)
Blog Tour (211)
Book Haul (8)
Book Talk (15)
Book Trailer (7)
Contest Winner (645)
Conventions (94)
Cover Judge (3)
Cover Reveal (7)
Dark Faerie Tales Launch (11)
Dark Faerie Tales Team (20)
Dating Games (17)
Deadly Destinations (139)
Discussion (36)
Event (42)
Fall Carnival (55)
Fantastic Fables (117)
Feature Friday (20)
Fifty Shades of Book Boys (40)
Fifty Shades of Sensuality (16)
Fifty Shades YA Boys (15)
Friday Reveal (1)
Giveaway (264)
Graphic Novels (5)
Guest Blogger (7)
Guest Post (143)
Help Wanted (10)
Interview (91)
Mating Games (19)
Movies (31)
New Releases (80)
Pick of Six (8)
Poll (1)
Publishing News (16)
Read-a-long (6)
Reading Challenge (25)
Remaking Covers (3)
Remnant Chronicles Read Along (3)
Review (2,305)
Spooky Legends (35)
Supernatural Smack Down (71)
Taking Cover (288)
Teaser Tuesday (7)
Television (5)
Throne & Court Week (6)
Top Ten of 2016 (7)
Trailer Thursday (22)
Video Games (5)
Waiting on Wednesday (32)
Who Needs A Hero (30)
Year in the Life of a Romance Review (3)

WP Cumulus Flash tag cloud by Roy Tanck and Luke Morton requires Flash Player 9 or better.

I Belong


Early Review: Rebel by Amy Tintera

Rebel Amy TinteraTitle: Rebel

Author: Amy Tintera

Genre: YA Dystopian

Series: Reboot (Book #2)

Publication DateMay 13, 2014

FormatHardcover, 352 Pages

ISBN-10: 0062217100 (HarperTeen)

ISBN-13: 978-0062217103 (HarperTeen)

Reviewed by: Bridget

Synopsis:

The sequel to the action-packed Reboot is a can’t-miss thrill ride, perfect for fans of James Patterson, Veronica Roth, and Marie Lu.

After coming back from death as Reboots and being trained by HARC as soldiers, Wren and Callum have finally escaped north, where they hope to find a life of freedom. But when they arrive at the Reboot Reservation, it isn’t what they expected. Under the rule of a bloodthirsty leader, Micah, the Reboots are about to wage an all-out war on the humans. Although Wren’s instincts are telling her to set off into the wilderness on their own and leave the battle far behind, Callum is unwilling to let his human family be murdered. When Micah commits the ultimate betrayal, the choice is made for them. But Micah has also made a fatal mistake . . . he’s underestimated Wren and Callum.

The explosive finale to the Reboot duology is full of riveting action and steamy love scenes as Wren and Callum become rebels against their own kind.

Quick & Dirty: Brimming with suspense, action, and romance this series is a must read for all young adult dystopian fans. Tintera delivered a wonderful ending to this dazzling series that has quickly become one of my favorite reads of the year.

Opening Sentence: Wren was silent.

Excerpt: No

The Review:

There was a virus that spread and killed thousands of people, but some of those people Rebooted or in other words, came back to life. The longer you were dead the stronger you were, but you also had fewer emotions. All the Reboots were taken and forced to work for HARC (Human Advancement and Repopulation Corporation). Wren and Callum are both Reboots that lived in the Rosa Reboot facility, but they recently escaped. There were rumors that there is a Reboot Reservation that is safe for all  Reboots looking for freedom, but what they find is very different than what they expected.

The Reservation is run by a ruthless leader that is set on getting revenge. He feels that Reboots are the superior race and the only way for them to prosper is to completely eliminate their enemies, which is the entire human race. Wren wants nothing more than to run away with Callum, but Callum refuses to just stand by and watch his family get slaughtered. Is there a way to save everyone they care about — human and reboot? Wren and Callum are about to find out!

Wren is a wonderful heroine and she grows so much in this story. She is more open and honest about how she feels, which made her way easier to relate too. She’s not use to dealing with feelings because it’s a Reboot’s nature to suppress them and the HARC trained them to do that as well. I loved seeing this softer side of Wren, it in no way made her seem weak, just stronger all around. It brought out her human side and made her a more admirable character.

Callum also grew by leaps and bounds in this book, which made him sexier. When it came to expressing how you feel and being smart, he was an expert, but when it came to fighting or taking control of a situation, he really struggled with it. But luckily he has found something worth fighting for and he ends up really standing out as a leader. He is still that great adorable guy that can easily make you smile, but he shows a tougher side to him that made him a better rounded character. His relationship with Wren is so sweet, they really balance each other out perfectly, and they also had really great chemistry. They were both wonderful characters and I am sad to see their story come to a close.

Rebel starts off with a bang and is a fast paced adventure the whole way through. I really enjoyed the first book in this series and luckily this one was just as good. Just like in Reboot, this was told from both Wren and Callum’s POV, which I really liked. I liked being able to see what each of them was thinking, but there were a few times I did get a little confused on whose head I was in. Both characters were so easy to like, as were all the wonderful secondary characters. The plot was intriguing and intense, it easily kept me interested. The romance is adorable and I loved how it developed slowly and realistically. I really enjoy Tintera’s writing, it is captivating and she really knows how to tell a great story. This was the ending to the series, which made me sad because I loved it so much. But the ending was very satisfying and I am really looking forward to whatever Tintera comes out with next. I would highly recommend this series to anyone looking for a fast paced dystopian novel with loveable characters, swoony romance, and heart pounding adventure.

Notable Scene:

Beth and Addie exchanged a horrified expression and a sick feeling started to build in my stomach.

“On the hunt?” Addie said, her voice barely above a whisper.

“Technically she went to find the Reboots who didn’t come back, but I think they were going to hunt if they could.” I swallowed. “Why? What’s wrong?”

“Did they tell her what the hunt was?” Addie’s eyes were big, worry mixing with fear.

“I . . . I don’t know.” I glanced from her to Beth.

“What’s the hunt?”

Reboot Series:

1. Reboot

2. Rebel (May 13, 2014)

skull5

FTC Advisory: HarperTeen provided me with a copy of Rebel. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

sig-DFT

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Related Posts with Thumbnails


You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Comments are closed.

«
»