Posts     Comments    

Are You Following Me?


Grab My Button

My TBR Pile

Darkfaerietales's to-read book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Word Cloud

I Belong


Early Review: Sea of Shadows by Kelley Armstrong

Sea of ShadowsTitleSea of Shadows

Author: Kelley Armstrong

Genre: YA Fantasy

Series: Age of Legends (Book 1)

Publication Date: April 8, 2014

Format: Hardcover, 416 Pages

ISBN-10: 0062071246 (HarperTeen)

ISBN-13: 978-0062071248 (HarperTeen)

Reviewed by: Kaitlin

Synopsis:

Kelley Armstrong, #1 New York Times bestselling author, takes an exciting new direction with this big, breathtaking blend of fantasy, romance, horror, and pulse-pounding action, perfect for fans of Graceling and Game of Thrones.

Twin sisters Moria and Ashyn were marked at birth to become the Keeper and the Seeker of Edgewood, beginning with their sixteenth birthday. Trained in fighting and in the secret rites of the spirits, they lead an annual trip into the Forest of the Dead. There, the veil between the living world and the beyond is thinnest, and the girls pay respect to the spirits who have passed.

But this year, their trip goes dreadfully wrong.

With all the heart-stopping romance and action that have made her a #1 New York Times bestselling author, and set in an unforgettably rich and dangerous world, this first epic book in the Age of Legends trilogy will appeal to Kelley Armstrong’s legions of fans around the world and win her many new ones.

Quick & Dirty: It’s easy to immerse yourself in this action-packed, exciting novel.

Opening Sentence: After three days of tramping across endless lava fields, Ronan quickened his steps at the sight of the forest.

Excerpt: No

The Review:

Sea of Shadows tells the story of Moria and Ashyn, twins, trained since they were young to be seeker and keeper of Edgewood. In this tiny village, the keeper and seeker keep the angry spirits at bay and keep a connection to their ancestors. But this year, during the annual trip into the Forest of the Dead, the spirits rebel — ancient monsters awaken and people are slaughtered. It’s up to Moria and Ashyn to discover why and how to save the sole survivors of Edgewood!

Moria and Ashyn are very different, beside physical appearance. Moria is fierce and impatient, with a quick tongue and talent in weaponry. Ashyn is quieter and more proper, regarded as the weaker of the sisters. I enjoyed the conflicting personalities, and it’s obvious that although they are far from the same they share a deep bond. Their spiritual animals, a Hound of the Immortals and a Wildcat, made me like the characters even more. Through the journey they both change a little, in subtle ways — Moria learns a little patience and Ashyn lets her more fiery side show once or twice.

Now let’s talk about the love interests. I can appreciate the relationship between Moria and Gavril, but I didn’t like it very much. Gavril doesn’t show enough expression towards Moria: the only way I realized they were supposed to be falling in love was through Ashyn’s point of view. On the other hand, Ashyn’s love interest Ranon was more fun. He added humor to an otherwise very tensely toned novel, loosening the suspense a bit.

With the two sister’s points of views so different, it was hard to get confused, but a few times I did. Sometimes it was just that Moria had narrated four chapters before this one and I expected Moria’s story, and same with Ashyn. Other than that, though, I didn’t get mixed up, and all was well in my reading. (Just be careful if you read it to not get too comfortable in one character — as soon as something exciting happens to one it will often flash to the other!)

I enjoyed how the setting was always changing. The adventure spanned over quite a distance, so you aren’t hearing about the dreary Waste’s barren sand too long.

To sum it up, Sea of Shadows was ripe with betrayals, cliffhangers, and action, although the romance was lacking a little. There were two or three kisses the whole novel, so if you’re a huge fan of Twilight by Stephanie Meyer you might want to avoid this title. Otherwise, you will really love it. You’ll want to pre-order it on your eReader or pick it up at Barnes and Noble. I’d recommend the latter, the cover is awesome. Definitely something you want to display on a bookshelf, that’s for sure! Happy reading!

Notable Scene:

It looks like… It cannot be…

She lifted her gaze slowly, almost not daring to look back at the door, certain that she would not see what she-

Moria walked through.

There were others with her. Ashyn didn’t see them. Her mind stopped there: Moria walked through.

She saw her sisters face, sweat-stained and hard, her blue eyes blazing fury. Moria spotted her and her rage evaporated a flicker of shock. Then she raced across the stone floor.

Age of Legends Series:

1. Sea of Shadows (April 8, 2014)

skull4

FTC Advisory: HarperCollins provided me with a copy of Sea of Shadows. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

sig-DFT

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Related Posts with Thumbnails

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


One Response to “Early Review: Sea of Shadows by Kelley Armstrong

  1. Kris (Imaginary Reads)No Gravatar
    1

    Mora and Ashyn sound like characters I’d love. Plus, I’m always up for a dark fantasy! Great review!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
«
»