Posts     Comments    

Are You Following Me?


Grab My Button

My TBR Pile

Darkfaerietales's to-read book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Word Cloud

ARC Tour Blog Tour Book Expo of America Chloe Neill Contemporary Contemporary Romance Contest Winner Convention Deadly Destinations Dystopian Erotic Romance Fantastic Fables Fantasy Gini Koch Giveaway Guest Post High Fantasy Historical Historical Fiction Horror Interview Jennifer Estep Katherine "Kitty" Katt Series Mystery New Adult New Releases Paranormal Paranormal Romance Patricia Briggs Review Richelle Mead Romance RT Convention Science Fiction Seanan McGuire Spooky Legends Steampunk Supernatural Smack Down Taking Cover Thriller Urban Fantasy Vampires Waiting on Wednesday Winner Young Adult 12 Days of Christmas (31)
Across the Worlds (13)
ARC Tour (326)
Artist Alley (9)
Author Spotlight (11)
Author Update (7)
Awards (14)
Blog Tour (211)
Book Haul (8)
Book Talk (15)
Book Trailer (7)
Contest Winner (645)
Conventions (94)
Cover Judge (3)
Cover Reveal (7)
Dark Faerie Tales Launch (11)
Dark Faerie Tales Team (20)
Dating Games (17)
Deadly Destinations (139)
Discussion (36)
Event (42)
Fall Carnival (55)
Fantastic Fables (117)
Feature Friday (20)
Fifty Shades of Book Boys (40)
Fifty Shades of Sensuality (16)
Fifty Shades YA Boys (15)
Friday Reveal (1)
Giveaway (264)
Graphic Novels (5)
Guest Blogger (7)
Guest Post (143)
Help Wanted (10)
Interview (91)
Mating Games (19)
Movies (31)
New Releases (80)
Pick of Six (8)
Poll (1)
Publishing News (16)
Read-a-long (6)
Reading Challenge (25)
Remaking Covers (3)
Remnant Chronicles Read Along (3)
Review (2,305)
Spooky Legends (35)
Supernatural Smack Down (71)
Taking Cover (288)
Teaser Tuesday (7)
Television (5)
Throne & Court Week (6)
Top Ten of 2016 (7)
Trailer Thursday (22)
Video Games (5)
Waiting on Wednesday (32)
Who Needs A Hero (30)
Year in the Life of a Romance Review (3)

WP Cumulus Flash tag cloud by Roy Tanck and Luke Morton requires Flash Player 9 or better.

I Belong


Early Review: Silver in the Blood by Jessica Day George

Silver in the BloodTitle: Silver in the Blood

Author: Jessica Day George

Genre: YA Paranormal

Series: Silver in the Blood (Book #1)

Publication Date: July 7, 2015

Format: Hardcover, 384 Pages

ISBN-10: 1619634317 (Bloomsbury Children)

ISBN-13: 978-1619634312 (Bloomsbury Children)

Reviewed by: Bridget

Synopsis:

A New York Times bestselling author brings dark secrets to life in a lush new YA perfect for fans of Libba Bray or Cassandra Clare.

Society girls from New York City circa 1890, Dacia and Lou never desired to know more about their lineage, instead preferring to gossip about the mysterious Romanian family that they barely knew. But upon turning seventeen, the girls must return to their homeland to meet their relatives, find proper husbands, and—most terrifyingly—learn the deep family secrets of The Claw, The Wing, and The Smoke. The Florescus, after all, are shape-shifters, and it is time for Dacia and Lou to fulfill the prophecy that demands their acceptance of this fate . . . or fight against this cruel inheritance with all their might.

With a gorgeous Romanian setting, stunning Parisian gowns, and dark brooding young men, readers will be swept up by this epic adventure of two girls in a battle for their lives.

Quick & Dirty: Action packed story filled with adorable romance, loveable characters, and great humor. I enjoyed every minute of this story and would highly recommend it to all young adult fans!

Opening Sentence: Dacia picked up her book and put it down again.

Excerpt: No

The Review:

Cousins Dacia and Louisa grew up in the wonderful city of New York. It is the year 1897 and both of these girls dominate the social scene in New York. Both girls have just recently turned seventeen and they can’t wait to tour the beautiful country of Europe where there is sure to be handsome gentlemen, wonderful shopping, and enchanting parties.  But instead of going on a dream vacation like they planned they are sent to Romania, the country where both of their mothers were born and raised. This is their first time visiting their ancestral home and they have only met a few of their relatives from their mother’s side of the family.

Upon arriving in Bucharest both of the girls learn that their family is very different. It turns out that their family has the ability to shapeshift into one of three creatures. Some are members of The Claw and have the ability to change into a wolf, others are of The Wing and can change into bats, and finally there is The Smoke where they can basically change into a form of smoke. There is a prophecy that states Dacia and Louisa will lead their family to greatness, but to do so they must commit the most horrendous of crimes. Will they have the courage to defy their destiny or will the temptation of power and acceptance tempt them into doing what their family wants?

Dacia is a very spirited girl that doesn’t have a care in the world. She is blunt, witty, and loves a good adventure. I instantly loved Dacia and found her to be a very entertaining character. She has no problem using her charms to get what she wants and she is very good at everything she sets her mind. She is a terrible flirt, but she is also a very loyal friend. Her fiery attitude was so much fun and she added a lot of great humor to the story. There was one moment in the book where I found her to be a little frustrating but it was very short lived and I quickly fell back in love with her! She is a great heroine and I really look forward to seeing where her story goes next.

Lou is a much more reserved person. She has what they call a tender disposition and she has always felt a little awkward in her own skin. Everyone tells her what a beautiful girl she is, but that’s not how she sees herself. She is the perfectly obedient daughter that does what she is told. What I have described probably sounds pretty boring compared to Dacia, but I actually ended up liking Lou even better than I did Dacia. There is something about her tender personality that just pulled at my heart strings and as the story unfolds she grows so much. She discovers so much about herself and in the end she becomes a much bolder person. She doesn’t shy away from a fight and she is very resourceful. I felt an instant connection with her and it just continued to grow throughout the story.

There is a fairly large cast of secondary characters and I found each one of them so interesting. I loved learning all their stories and to be honest I can’t wait to learn more. I especially want to find out more about the girls mothers and aunts. I actually would love it if George wrote a sequel telling us how the 3 sisters ended up in America and their whole journey. I doubt she is going to write this but I personally would love to read it if she ever does. Then of course I loved the boys in the book as well. I’m not going to go into any detail about them because I don’t want to spoil anything. But I can tell you that they are very swoon worthy and I loved both of them! The romance was pretty subtle, but I felt that it was a great setup for the next book in the series which I am now dying to read!

Silver in the Blood is an amazing story that completely blew me away! I loved everything about this book, the rich atmosphere, the witty characters, the adorable romance, and the suspenseful plot made this an epic book that is easily the best book I have read this year so far. From the very first page I was hooked and I kept trying to find time throughout the day to read this because I just had to know what happened next. I ended up finishing it in just a day and now I wish I would have taken more time to read it because I am going to have a serious book hangover now. Jessica Day George is such an amazing storyteller and her writing is exceptional! I have read many of her other books and I have enjoyed every single one of them. This book was just pure fun and had everything I love in a great story. I found myself laughing many times throughout the story and there was also tons of great action. As you can tell by my review I can’t say enough good things about this book and I would highly recommend this to all young adult fans.

Notable Scene:

22 May 1897

Oook la-la! Whatever shall I do? There are far too many beautiful young men in the world, and I am just one girl. First there was Will Carver in New York, then Lord Johnny in London, and now I have just met the most delicious of them all. And it seems that he is a prince. Prince Mihai of Wallachia, if you please! It’s an old title, and one that (sadly) does not mean much anymore. Still. A prince! A prince with beautiful long lashes and thick curling hair. A prince who wears perfectly tailored suits and speaks seven languages, who likes to go to plays and concerts and read popular novels!

If anything, I would day that he is too perfect for words! Yes, yes, diary, I can hear Lou’s voice in my head right now asking me about Will Carver and Lord Johnny. Well, I’m sorry, but neither of them are here at present. Surely it can’t hurt to amuse myself a bit in Romania? When I return to New York, dear Lord Johnny will be but a memory, and Will Carver will be back from France, eager to dance with me once more. Until that day, however, Prince Mihai and his beautiful eyes are here to entertain me, That is, if Aunt Kate will let him!

Silver in the Blood Series:

1. Silver in the Blood

glitter crown

skull5

FTC Advisory: Bloomsbury Children provided me with a copy of Silver in the Blood.  No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

sig-DFT

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Related Posts with Thumbnails


You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Comments are closed.

«
»