Posts     Comments    

Are You Following Me?


Grab My Button

My TBR Pile

Darkfaerietales's to-read book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Word Cloud

ARC Tour Blog Tour Book Expo of America Contemporary Contemporary Romance Contest Winner Convention Darynda Jones Deadly Destinations Dystopian Erotic Romance Fantastic Fables Fantasy Gena Showalter Giveaway Guest Post High Fantasy Historical Historical Fiction Horror Interview Jennifer Estep Julie Kagawa Mystery Nalini Singh New Adult New Releases Paranormal Paranormal Romance Review Richelle Mead Romance RT Convention Science Fiction Seanan McGuire Spooky Legends Steampunk Supernatural Smack Down Taking Cover Thriller Urban Fantasy Vampires Waiting on Wednesday Winner Young Adult 12 Days of Christmas (31)
ARC Tour (326)
Artist Alley (9)
Author Spotlight (11)
Author Update (7)
Awards (14)
Blog Tour (194)
Book Haul (8)
Book Talk (15)
Book Trailer (7)
Contest Winner (627)
Conventions (94)
Cover Judge (2)
Cover Reveal (5)
Dark Faerie Tales Launch (11)
Dark Faerie Tales Team (19)
Dating Games (17)
Deadly Destinations (139)
Discussion (36)
Event (42)
Fall Carnival (55)
Fantastic Fables (117)
Feature Friday (20)
Fifty Shades of Book Boys (40)
Fifty Shades of Sensuality (16)
Fifty Shades YA Boys (15)
Friday Reveal (1)
Giveaway (194)
Graphic Novels (5)
Guest Blogger (7)
Guest Post (143)
Help Wanted (10)
Interview (90)
Mating Games (19)
Movies (31)
New Releases (79)
Pick of Six (8)
Poll (1)
Publishing News (15)
Read-a-long (6)
Reading Challenge (25)
Remaking Covers (3)
Remnant Chronicles Read Along (3)
Review (2,111)
Spooky Legends (35)
Supernatural Smack Down (71)
Taking Cover (288)
Teaser Tuesday (7)
Television (5)
Throne & Court Week (6)
Top Ten of 2016 (1)
Trailer Thursday (22)
Video Games (5)
Waiting on Wednesday (32)
Who Needs A Hero (30)
Year in the Life of a Romance Review (3)

WP Cumulus Flash tag cloud by Roy Tanck and Luke Morton requires Flash Player 9 or better.

I Belong


Early Review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

UninvitedTitle: Uninvited

AuthorSophie Jordan

Genre: YA Dystopian

Series: Uninvited (Book 1)

Publication Date: January 28, 2014

Format: Hardcover, 384 Pages

ISBN-10: 0062233653 (Harper Teen)

ISBN-13978-0062233653 (Harper Teen)

Reviewed by: Bridget

Synopsis:

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she’s destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann

Quick & Dirty: Action packed story filled with love, consequences, and adventure.  From the first page, I was hooked and after that it was impossible to put down.

Opening Sentence: I ALWAYS KNEW I WAS DIFFERENT.

Excerpt: No

The Review

Davy Hamilton has the perfect life. At the age of three she was deemed a musical prodigy since she could play Chopin on the piano from just hearing it once.  As she grew older she developed talents for a dozen different instruments and had a killer voice to go along with it.  She only has a few months left of her senior year and once she graduates she will be attending Julliard. Her amazing boyfriend Kyle is going to NYU, so they will be able to stay together.  She has her whole future planned, but then one bad test ruins everything.

The government has found a way to test humans for a thing called HTS or the killing gene.  If you possess this gene it means that at some point in your life you are going to kill another human being.  After Davy is diagnosed as a HTS carrier everything falls apart.  Her perfect boyfriend dumps her, her parents can’t be in the same room as her, all her friends stop talking to her, and there is no way Julliard is going to want her now.  The only person that doesn’t look at her differently is fellow HTS carrier, Sean, but how can Davy trust someone that is bound to be a killer?  She doesn’t feel any different but genetics never lie, so how can Davy even trust herself?

Davy starts off as a really sweet girl, but she lives in a bubble.  Growing up with rich parents and being the model child, she has never felt ostracized in anyway.  She honestly had the perfect life and when everything is torn away she doesn’t know how to deal with it.  She is naïve to think that people won’t treat her differently, but soon reality sets in and she realizes that everyone looks at her differently.  She struggles but she also grows immensely throughout the story.  I really like Davy, it was easy to sympathize with her. The more I got to know her the more I liked her.

Sean is totally dreamy.  He has a bad boy persona, and killer good looks.  He grew up in the foster care system and has known that he carried the HTS gene since he was a kid.  He doesn’t care what others think of him, and he is not someone you want to mess with.  But he is actually a really good person, and he has a protective streak, especially when it comes to Davy.  For the most part, Sean’s story remains a mystery, so I’m really looking forward to finding out more about him in the next book.

This was a really addictive book, once I picked it up, it was almost impossible to put down.  It is action packed and full of suspense, romance, and intrigue.  The cast of characters are compelling and interesting.  For the most part, you only really get to know Davy in this book, but I hope in the sequel we get more background on all the secondary characters. Because they are amazing and I would love to know more about them. The plot kept me guessing, but there were times that things felt a little too convenient.  The pacing of the book was perfect, I never felt a lull in the story.  The ending was satisfying, but it left me anxious for the next book.  This really was a great read, and I would highly recommend it to fans of YA dystopian novels, it will not disappoint.

Notable Scene:

Mom looks at me finally. Her lips compress and flatten like it’s hard for her to even look at me. “You can’t go back to school.”

“What? I don’t—”

“Let me finish.” She takes a breath like she’s preparing to dive into deep waters. “You’ve been uninvited.”

Her lip curls at this last bit. Everton Academy never expels students. They “uninvite.” As though the gentle euphemism could mask the reality of what being uninvited means.

I slide a step back. My hip bumps into a table holding an assortment of framed family photos. One hits the floor with a loud crack. I don’t even move to pick it up.

Shaking my head, I whisper, “Why?”

It’s Dad who responds, his voice biting deep with the words that will change everything forever. “You have the kill gene.”

Uninvited  Series:

1. Uninvited

crow4

FTC Advisory: Harper Teen provided me with a copy of Uninvited. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

sig-DFT

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Related Posts with Thumbnails


You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Comments are closed.

«
»