Posts     Comments    

Are You Following Me?


Grab My Button

My TBR Pile

Darkfaerietales's to-read book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Word Cloud

ARC Tour Book Expo of America Contemporary Contemporary Romance Contest Winner Convention Deadly Destinations Dystopian Erotic Romance Event Fantastic Fables Fantasy Gena Showalter Giveaway Guest Post Historical Historical Fiction Horror Interview Jennifer Estep Julie Kagawa Movie Mystery New Adult New Releases Paranormal Paranormal Romance Review Richelle Mead Romance RT Convention Science Fiction Spooky Legends Steampunk Supernatural Smack Down Taking Cover Thea Harrison Thriller Trailer Thursday Urban Fantasy Vampires Waiting on Wednesday Winner Young Adult Zombies ARC Tour (326)
Artist Alley (9)
Author Spotlight (11)
Author Update (7)
Awards (14)
Blog Tour (70)
Book Haul (8)
Book Talk (5)
Book Trailer (6)
Contest Winner (437)
Conventions (94)
Cover Judge (2)
Dark Faerie Tales Launch (9)
Dark Faerie Tales Team (17)
Deadly Destinations (95)
Discussion (29)
Event (33)
Fall Carnival (37)
Fantastic Fables (89)
Feature Friday (20)
Fifty Shades YA Boys (15)
Giveaway (152)
Graphic Novels (5)
Guest Blogger (7)
Guest Post (140)
Help Wanted (7)
Interview (83)
Mating Games (19)
Movies (30)
New Releases (49)
Pick of six (7)
Poll (1)
Publishing News (10)
Read-a-long (5)
Reading Challenge (25)
Review (1,432)
Spooky Legends (35)
Supernatural Smack Down (71)
Taking Cover (287)
Teaser Tuesday (7)
Television (5)
Trailer Thursday (22)
Video Games (5)
Waiting on Wednesday (31)
Year in the Life of a Romance Review (3)

WP Cumulus Flash tag cloud by Roy Tanck and Luke Morton requires Flash Player 9 or better.

I Belong


Guest Blogger: Tynga’s Reviews (Blog Birthday)

My blog birthday celebration continues today with Tynga from Tynga’s Reviews.  I was so pleased when I first discovered her blog.  Tynga has really great reviews, features, and her vlogs are so cute because she has a cool accent.  Definitely stop by to check her blog out.


Welcome Tynga!

Hello everyone!

I am very honored to be here with you today to celebrate Angela’s first blog-anniversary.  I’ve been following her since pretty much the very beginning of her blog, and enjoyed each day *winks* I’ve never done a guest post before, so please bear with me in this epic adventure!

I chose to talk to you about one of my favorite creatures in paranormal books, the shapeshifters! May they be werewolves, werecats, or something completely out of this world; they are always strong and fascinating.


In older lore, werewolves were the most common shapeshifter.  Savage and roaming the night alone to chase their victims, they were pictured hairy, ugly, bulky, not quite human, nor wolf. And thankfully, modern stories paint a different portrait of these fabulous mythological beings.  While every author has their own twist, werewolves are most referred to as pack members, very in touch with their inner beast, with their own set of rules and an Alpha to lead them.  One of the series I really love is the Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs.  Mercy is what they call a Walker; she has the ability to change into a coyote thanks to her father’s native genetic.  She was raised in a pack of wolves and fights her way to earn respect and freedom.  Of course, all werewolves in that series are hunks (not that I mind!), but they all have their own personality, and pack relations are rather interesting!  Everything in a pack is about power and mind games, and the stronger wins, beware to anyone getting in the way.  Briggs series is unique, but closer to the typical werewolf lore (minus the driven by full moon shift).  Andrea Cremer, debut author, wrote completely different wolf lore in her book Nightshade.  I’m kind of reticent to calling them werewolves, because it’s not quite the case. In her story, Guardians are people able to change into wolves by some magical power, and while they are very powerful, they are not at the top of the metaphorical food chain, because they have to obey orders from their masters.


Another amazing pack animal, not as popular as its former far-fetched cousin, is the werecat.  The Shifters series by Rachel Vincent is by far my favorite in this genre.  Alpha, the last book in the series released just a few weeks ago, and if you haven’t read this series yet, I strongly suggest you do.  The main plot turns around Faythe Sanders, big mouthed-rebel werecat, daughter of Alpha and surrounded by a bunch heavily masculine male werecats.  She lives in a world where a council, formed of 10 Alphas (one for each area) rules democratically, with their own set of rules, hidden from the human population.  Werecats are fierce, loyal and strong, and even though they have cat instincts while shifted, they remain men (and woman!) in spirit, and their human feelings sometimes get in the way.


There are also many other shapeshifters, like Leah Cypess’ Shifter (a mythological creature able to take any shape) or Karen Kincy’s Pooka (shapeshifting spirit who turns into a black horse), but I will close this post by talking about Cassandra Clare’s latest release, Clockwork Angel.  The main character of this series is a shapeshifter, but you’ve never seen one like her.  She doesn’t change into an animal, but she can change into another person, accessing their thoughts, if she touches an object of theirs.  As far as they know, Tessa isn’t a demon, nor a warlock, but she’s not human either.  And being able to access someone else’s very soul brings up identity issues. How does one know if they are really who they think they are?  Is it her real face in the mirror, or is it still someone else’s?


The paranormal world, and specifically the shapeshifters world is so full of possibilities, and I’m always amazed by our favorite author’s imagination.  I hope I piqued your curiosity and that you will pick up some of those great books, I’m sure you won’t be disappointed!

Thank you very much Angela for having me along!  Happy Blog-Anniversary!

GIVEAWAY GUIDELINES:

One lucky commenter will have a chance to win a Kindle 3G + Wi-Fi.

1. Giveaway is open to US and Canada only.

2. Giveaway ends Friday, November 26th at 11:59 PM EST.

3. The winner will be picked with the help of Random.org.


VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 10.0/10 (2 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Guest Blogger: Tynga's Reviews (Blog Birthday), 10.0 out of 10 based on 2 ratings
Related Posts with Thumbnails

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


30 Responses to “Guest Blogger: Tynga’s Reviews (Blog Birthday)

  1. IcedreamNo Gravatar
    1

    Great guest post with Tynga. I love her blog too and yes, I look forward to her vlogs to hear her accent also :D

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  2. LaneNo Gravatar
    2

    I love Tynga’s blog as well!!!! Awesome that she came by!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. Stella (Ex Libris)No Gravatar
    3

    Tynga, I so agree with you, shapeshifters are my favourite paranormal species too! I find them exciting and complex, and love that alpha thing going on: how the shifter males are power, protective and possessive, and love that wolves mate for life too ;-) Love that loyal trait lol :-)

    Thank for the great guest post Tynga and the recommendations,w ill check out those I haven’t read yet and Happy blogiversary Angela!! :-D Here’s to many more!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  4. MarquettaNo Gravatar
    4

    I love shapeshifters! Vampires are so 2008! LOL! Great post!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  5. JoNo Gravatar
    5

    Nice post about shifters!! And happy Blogiversay, Angela!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  6. KellyNo Gravatar
    6

    Whoohoo, that was a great post about Shapeshifters!
    Thanks so much Angela and Tynga! :)
    I haven’t tried the Patricia Briggs’ and Rachel Vincent’s series and I so have to!!!
    XD

    Also, good luck to everyone entering the contest! XD

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  7. Jennifer RaymentNo Gravatar
    7

    Wonderful post, I also follow Tynga and enjoy her blog.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  8. Elizabeth BriggsNo Gravatar
    8

    I love shapeshifters! I just read Other by Karen Kincy, which features all different types of shapeshifters.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  9. Stacey SmithNo Gravatar
    9

    I love shape shifters Two Vampire where my Fave but lately Shapeshifter have made it to my top of my list of favorites.
    sasluvbooks(at)yahoo.com

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  10. MissieNo Gravatar
    10

    Great post!

    In Charlaine Harris’s Southern Vampire Mysteries series, there are a variety of shifters or were creatures. Some can only shift into the one specific animal, and some are more unique and can shift into any animal. They are all fascinating to me.

    I have yet to read Rachel Vincent’s series, but I’ve heard great things. I hope to start them soon.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  11. TyngaNo Gravatar
    11

    Thanks for all the great comments guys =)

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  12. CarmelNo Gravatar
    12

    I LOVED the Shifters series. I’m so hooked that I’m moving on to her YA series. I have high hopes! Thanks for the contest and happy blog-anniversary!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  13. AyleeNo Gravatar
    13

    I definitely love shapeshifters, too! I have yet to read some of the books you highlighted here but do plan on getting around to them. I’ve never read a werecat book before! That sounds very interesting.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  14. OrchidNo Gravatar
    14

    I might just have to give shape-shifter books another try (I read a few duds and was kind of turned off from the whole genre. Maybe I just wasn’t reading the right series).
    Great posts.

    Happy blog birthday! ^_^

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  15. Tracey O'HaraNo Gravatar
    15

    First off – I love both Dark Faerie Tales and Tynga’s Reviews – I visit for a read often – though don’t often have time to post.

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY Dark Faerie Tales and many more to come.

    I love shape shifters and have ideas of my own about them. But that is another story. :)

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  16. Lucy D'AndreaNo Gravatar
    16

    Congratulations on you’re one year blog!! I’ve just joined thanks to Tynga who posted on her blog about yours!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  17. tinaNo Gravatar
    17

    I haven’t read NIghtshade yet, but I love those other books. Congratulationts on the blogversery.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  18. Bookish in a BoxNo Gravatar
    18

    I can’t wait to read Nightshade! Everything I’ve heard about it is good.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  19. Debbie's World of BooksNo Gravatar
    19

    I’m already a follower and huge fan of Tynga’s. Loved Nightshade! Go Ren!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  20. MirandaNo Gravatar
    20

    I love Ms. Vincent’s series too! I’m a follower of Tynga but I haven’t watched one of her vlogs… looks like that is next on my list!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  21. Tamara ShurlingNo Gravatar
    21

    These are going on my tbr list!!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  22. CarolNo Gravatar
    22

    I am interested in anything paranormal, this sounds like a fun site

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  23. AnnalisaNo Gravatar
    23

    I really like this site, the art is dark and moody.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  24. Beth WarrenNo Gravatar
    24

    Enjoyed the blog, I’d love the chance to win a Kindle so I can try more authors without overloading the house with books.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  25. Jess (The Cozy Reader)No Gravatar
    25

    I’m a long time follower of Tynga’s blog too! She’s such a nice girl and I love reading her reviews. She’s also very talented at blog design and technical help. :)

    Not sure how your giveaway is working. Is it one entry per guest blogger? If not then feel free to delete my extra entries. :(

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  26. BillNo Gravatar
    26

    dark or light, tales can be fun

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  27. Donna SNo Gravatar
    27

    Great guest post. Hers is one of my favorite blogs. Found a lot of new books there.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  28. Pamela HansenNo Gravatar
    28

    HAPPY 1-YEAR ANNIVERSARY ……This Blog was amazing I enjoyed reading about shapeshifters and look forward to good reads

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  29. MarleneNo Gravatar
    29

    I love shapeshifter books, but haven’t read these, but they are going on my tbr list. I would love to win a kindle before I get a divorce over all of the books I have.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  30. Sandra GrayNo Gravatar
    30

    I love shapeshifters too

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
«
»