Posts     Comments    

Are You Following Me?


Grab My Button

My TBR Pile

Darkfaerietales's to-read book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Word Cloud

ARC Tour Blog Tour Book Expo of America Chloe Neill Contemporary Contemporary Romance Contest Winner Convention Deadly Destinations Dystopian Erotic Romance Fantastic Fables Fantasy Gini Koch Giveaway Guest Post High Fantasy Historical Historical Fiction Horror Interview Jennifer Estep Katherine "Kitty" Katt Series Mystery New Adult New Releases Paranormal Paranormal Romance Patricia Briggs Review Richelle Mead Romance RT Convention Science Fiction Seanan McGuire Spooky Legends Steampunk Supernatural Smack Down Taking Cover Thriller Urban Fantasy Vampires Waiting on Wednesday Winner Young Adult 12 Days of Christmas (31)
Across the Worlds (13)
ARC Tour (326)
Artist Alley (9)
Author Spotlight (11)
Author Update (7)
Awards (14)
Blog Tour (211)
Book Haul (8)
Book Talk (15)
Book Trailer (7)
Contest Winner (645)
Conventions (94)
Cover Judge (3)
Cover Reveal (7)
Dark Faerie Tales Launch (11)
Dark Faerie Tales Team (20)
Dating Games (17)
Deadly Destinations (139)
Discussion (36)
Event (42)
Fall Carnival (55)
Fantastic Fables (117)
Feature Friday (20)
Fifty Shades of Book Boys (40)
Fifty Shades of Sensuality (16)
Fifty Shades YA Boys (15)
Friday Reveal (1)
Giveaway (264)
Graphic Novels (5)
Guest Blogger (7)
Guest Post (143)
Help Wanted (10)
Interview (91)
Mating Games (19)
Movies (31)
New Releases (80)
Pick of Six (8)
Poll (1)
Publishing News (16)
Read-a-long (6)
Reading Challenge (25)
Remaking Covers (3)
Remnant Chronicles Read Along (3)
Review (2,305)
Spooky Legends (35)
Supernatural Smack Down (71)
Taking Cover (288)
Teaser Tuesday (7)
Television (5)
Throne & Court Week (6)
Top Ten of 2016 (7)
Trailer Thursday (22)
Video Games (5)
Waiting on Wednesday (32)
Who Needs A Hero (30)
Year in the Life of a Romance Review (3)

WP Cumulus Flash tag cloud by Roy Tanck and Luke Morton requires Flash Player 9 or better.

I Belong


Review: The Body Market by Donna Freitas

TitleThe Body Market

Author: Donna Freitas

Genre: YA Science Fiction

Series: The Wired (Book #2)

Publication Date: March 28, 2017

Format: Hardcover, 409 Pages

ISBN-10: 0062118633 (HarperTeen)

ISBN-13: 978-0062118639 (HarperTeen)

Reviewed by: Tara

Synopsis

Skylar Cruz has been betrayed by everyone she trusted. Perhaps worst of all, she and her friends have failed to stop her sister, and now the Body Market is open for business.

Skylar is through being a pawn in everyone else’s game. She may be the only one who can stop what her family started. And she must do it before everyone in the App World runs out of time.

In the tradition of M. T. Anderson’s Feed and Scott Westerfeld’s Uglies, The Body Market is the next thrilling installment in this gripping and timely sci-fi series for teens.

Quick & Dirty: An excellent second installment in this dystopian science fiction series that is fully of action, romance, and hard choices.

Opening Sentence: I adjusted the scarf around my head.

Excerpt: Yes

The Review:

After reading Unplugged, I was really interested to see where the author would take the sequel. The Body Market had everything I liked about Unplugged, added an adorable romance, and clarified the rebel’s mission. The author also included some additional social commentary about the power of devices and social media in a way that was much more subtle than the first book.

The Body Market picks up a little bit after the ending of the first one, skipping over the immediate aftermath of the ending of book one. Skylar is kidnapped by a bounty hunter and is trapped in his cabin with him during a snow storm. After winning him over and finding out more about herself, Skylar decides to take an active role in the rebellion.

In Unplugged, I was a bit iffy about Skylar and the other characters but I loved how the author developed them in this book. They became a bit more fleshed out for me in general and I could understand their motivations more. Skylar changed the most and, in my mind at least, for the better. She discovered who she was and figured out what she was fighting for and why. Her character arc was one of my favorite things about this book. Plus it didn’t hurt that I totally shipped her with the new love interest (I never was a fan of Rain).

There were a lot of plot twists that I didn’t see coming but, when I looked back and thought about it, noticed that the author had included very subtle hints for some of them. My favorite was the one at the end, which I won’t reveal because of spoilers. It really set the page for the next, and final, installment in this series.

Unplugged was one of the rare sequels that was better than the series debut. Rather than suffering from second book syndrome, the characters all developed in major ways and the plot was fascinating and could stand on its own. Definitely check this one out if you enjoyed Unplugged!

Notable Scene:

“I know who you are,” he said.

“So?” I said, trying to sound as impassive as he did. “Who am I then?”

He put out his hand, as though we’d just been introduced at a party and he was trying to be polite. “You’re the most wanted girl in all of New Port City.” The right side of his mouth curled into a menacing half smile. “And I, a lucky bounty hunter.”

There was a moment, a pause between those words and what happened next, long enough for the fear to sear my insides like a firebomb, but not long enough that my gaming instincts could save me. They eventually kicked in and I was about to run, my brain automatically calculating the distance between me and the dark alley nearby, but I was too late.

I felt his hands on me.

They were strong. He was strong—stronger than he looked for his size.

“Don’t worry, Skylar,” he whispered. “I’m not going to hurt you. I promise,”

The Wired Series:

1. Unplugged

2. The Body Market

3. The Mind Virus (December 2017)

crow4

FTC Advisory: HarperTeen provided me with a copy of The Body Market. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Related Posts with Thumbnails


You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


One Response to “Review: The Body Market by Donna Freitas

  1. AmandaNo Gravatar
    1

    Great review as usual Tara! You picked a very interesting scene and now I’m forced to find out what’s next!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
«