Posts     Comments    

Are You Following Me?


Grab My Button

My TBR Pile

Darkfaerietales's to-read book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Word Cloud

ARC Tour Blog Tour Book Expo of America Contemporary Contemporary Romance Contest Winner Convention Darynda Jones Deadly Destinations Dystopian Erotic Romance Fantastic Fables Fantasy Gini Koch Giveaway Guest Post High Fantasy Historical Historical Fiction Horror Interview Jennifer Estep Julie Kagawa Katherine "Kitty" Katt Series Mystery New Adult New Releases Paranormal Paranormal Romance Review Richelle Mead Romance RT Convention Science Fiction Seanan McGuire Spooky Legends Steampunk Supernatural Smack Down Taking Cover Thriller Urban Fantasy Vampires Waiting on Wednesday Winner Young Adult 12 Days of Christmas (31)
Across the Worlds (13)
ARC Tour (326)
Artist Alley (9)
Author Spotlight (11)
Author Update (7)
Awards (14)
Blog Tour (207)
Book Haul (8)
Book Talk (15)
Book Trailer (7)
Contest Winner (643)
Conventions (94)
Cover Judge (3)
Cover Reveal (7)
Dark Faerie Tales Launch (12)
Dark Faerie Tales Team (19)
Dating Games (17)
Deadly Destinations (139)
Discussion (36)
Event (42)
Fall Carnival (55)
Fantastic Fables (117)
Feature Friday (20)
Fifty Shades of Book Boys (40)
Fifty Shades of Sensuality (16)
Fifty Shades YA Boys (15)
Friday Reveal (1)
Giveaway (234)
Graphic Novels (5)
Guest Blogger (7)
Guest Post (143)
Help Wanted (10)
Interview (90)
Mating Games (19)
Movies (31)
New Releases (80)
Pick of Six (8)
Poll (1)
Publishing News (16)
Read-a-long (6)
Reading Challenge (25)
Remaking Covers (3)
Remnant Chronicles Read Along (3)
Review (2,208)
Spooky Legends (35)
Supernatural Smack Down (71)
Taking Cover (288)
Teaser Tuesday (7)
Television (5)
Throne & Court Week (6)
Top Ten of 2016 (7)
Trailer Thursday (22)
Video Games (5)
Waiting on Wednesday (32)
Who Needs A Hero (30)
Year in the Life of a Romance Review (3)

WP Cumulus Flash tag cloud by Roy Tanck and Luke Morton requires Flash Player 9 or better.

I Belong


Review: Burning Midnight by Will McIntosh

Burning MidnightTitle: Burning Midnight

Author: Will McIntosh

Genre: YA Fantasy/Science Fiction

Series: N/A

Publication Date: February 2, 2016

Format: Hardcover, 320 Pages

ISBN-10: 0553534106 (Random House)

ISBN-13: 978-0553534108 (Random House)

Reviewed by: Zed

Synopsis:

For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave, this debut YA novel from Hugo Award winner Will McIntosh pits four underprivileged teens against an evil billionaire in the race of a lifetime.

Sully is a sphere dealer at a flea market. It doesn’t pay much—Alex Holliday’s stores have muscled out most of the independent sellers—but it helps him and his mom make the rent.

No one knows where the brilliant-colored spheres came from. One day they were just there, hidden all over the earth like huge gemstones. Burn a pair and they make you a little better: an inch taller, skilled at math, better-looking. The rarer the sphere, the greater the improvement—and the more expensive the sphere.

When Sully meets Hunter, a girl with a natural talent for finding spheres, the two start searching together. One day they find a Gold—a color no one has ever seen. And when Alex Holliday learns what they have, he will go to any lengths, will use all of his wealth and power, to take it from them.

There’s no question the Gold is priceless, but what does it actually do? None of them is aware of it yet, but the fate of the world rests on this little golden orb. Because all the world fights over the spheres, but no one knows where they come from, what their powers are, or why they’re here.

Quick & Dirty: Spheres that provide enhanced abilities but are they too good to be true?

Opening Sentence: Sully pulled the thin wad of bills from his pocket and counted.

Excerpt: No

The Review:

Burning Midnight completely surpassed my expectations. I didn’t expect to enjoy it as much as I did! The storyline was fascinating and the writing was addictive.

There wasn’t any one character that stood out more than another. To me, Sully, Hunter and Dom came as a package and they were all fun enough but it was the unusual storyline that kept me intrigued. This is a world with hidden coloured spheres that, when burned, give enhanced abilities. Some spheres are rarer than others, providing uncommon abilities and the cost of these spheres reflects this.

“So, Hunter, what did you ask Santa to bring you for Christmas?” Mike asked, sidling up to her.
She thought for a moment. “I asked him for strength.”
“Strength? I think you got the wrong guy; you’re supposed to ask Jesus for strength. Santa brings the swag.”

Hunter was a bit of a pain at times, too distrustful for her own good. Learning more about her past helped me sympathise with her attitude but she was still annoying at times. I felt sorry for Sully, having to prove himself again and again just to keep on her good side! I wondered why he made the effort?

“Whatever you say, Bronx,” he shot back.
Hunter turned. “That’s the Bronx. It’s the only place important enough that they had to put a the in front of it. You don’t say the Manhattan, or the California, only the Bronx.”
Sully cleared his throat. “Excuse me. I have to go to the bathroom and use the toilet.”

My favourite relationship was Sully and Dom’s bro-mance, their friendship was incredibly sweet even though the business with the spheres began to strain it. It was their friendship and banter that added the humour to Burning Midnight.

Dom gave him a look. “You’re not paying me interest. You’re like my brother.” He squinted, shook his head, “Come to think of it, my brother’s an asshole. I wouldn’t loan him my used gum.” He laughed, clapped Sully on the shoulder.

I loved the action and search for spheres. The entire hunting rare spheres and hiding from powerful people kept me wanting more. Alex Holliday was a scary villain that I underestimated many a time.

Overall, a surprisingly good read with an unexpected ending.

Notable Scene:

“But there’s no such thing as a free lunch. People used to think smoking cigarettes was good for you, and look how that turned out. When Internet ads say something is absolutely free with no obligation, it never is.”

Dom leaned toward her, elbows straddling his lunch. “You think burning spheres is gonna give everyone cancer?”

Mandy sighed heavily. “I don’t know what it’s going to do. I just know there’s always a price, and I don’t buy anything that doesn’t have the price clearly displayed.”

skull4

FTC Advisory: Delacorte Press/Random House provided me with a copy of Burning Midnight. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

sig-DFT

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Related Posts with Thumbnails


You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Comments are closed.

«
»