Posts     Comments    

Are You Following Me?


Grab My Button

My TBR Pile

Darkfaerietales's to-read book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Word Cloud

ARC Tour Blog Tour Book Expo of America Contemporary Contemporary Romance Contest Winner Convention Darynda Jones Deadly Destinations Dystopian Erotic Romance Fantastic Fables Fantasy Gini Koch Giveaway Guest Post High Fantasy Historical Historical Fiction Horror Interview Jennifer Estep Katherine "Kitty" Katt Series Mystery New Adult New Releases Paranormal Paranormal Romance Patricia Briggs Review Richelle Mead Romance RT Convention Science Fiction Seanan McGuire Spooky Legends Steampunk Supernatural Smack Down Taking Cover Thriller Urban Fantasy Vampires Waiting on Wednesday Winner Young Adult 12 Days of Christmas (31)
Across the Worlds (13)
ARC Tour (326)
Artist Alley (9)
Author Spotlight (11)
Author Update (7)
Awards (14)
Blog Tour (211)
Book Haul (8)
Book Talk (15)
Book Trailer (7)
Contest Winner (645)
Conventions (94)
Cover Judge (3)
Cover Reveal (7)
Dark Faerie Tales Launch (11)
Dark Faerie Tales Team (20)
Dating Games (17)
Deadly Destinations (139)
Discussion (36)
Event (42)
Fall Carnival (55)
Fantastic Fables (117)
Feature Friday (20)
Fifty Shades of Book Boys (40)
Fifty Shades of Sensuality (16)
Fifty Shades YA Boys (15)
Friday Reveal (1)
Giveaway (246)
Graphic Novels (5)
Guest Blogger (7)
Guest Post (143)
Help Wanted (10)
Interview (91)
Mating Games (19)
Movies (31)
New Releases (80)
Pick of Six (8)
Poll (1)
Publishing News (16)
Read-a-long (6)
Reading Challenge (25)
Remaking Covers (3)
Remnant Chronicles Read Along (3)
Review (2,256)
Spooky Legends (35)
Supernatural Smack Down (71)
Taking Cover (288)
Teaser Tuesday (7)
Television (5)
Throne & Court Week (6)
Top Ten of 2016 (7)
Trailer Thursday (22)
Video Games (5)
Waiting on Wednesday (32)
Who Needs A Hero (30)
Year in the Life of a Romance Review (3)

WP Cumulus Flash tag cloud by Roy Tanck and Luke Morton requires Flash Player 9 or better.

I Belong


Review: City Love by Susane Colasanti

City LoveTitle: City Love

Author: Susane Colasanti

Genre: YA Contemporary Romance

Series: City Love Series (Book #1)

Publication Date: April 21, 2015

Format: Hardcover, 336 Pages

ISBN-10: 0062307681 (HarperTeen)

ISBN-13: 978-0062307682 (HarperTeen)

Reviewed by: Zed

Synopsis:

Three teenage girls learn how to navigate their hearts and NYC. Book one of the trilogy, City Love, is the start of a romantic new series for fans of Sarah Dessen, Stephanie Perkins, and the Carrie Diaries, from bestselling author Susane Colasanti.

Roommates Sadie, Darcy, and Rosanna have big plans for their summer before college. Sadie is looking for love, Darcy is living for the next adventure, and Rosanna is reinventing herself. There will be plenty of distractions—irresistible guys, wrong guys, awkward encounters, 2 a.m. breakfasts, fangirl moments, Nasty Girl, and more—but if they look up they will discover the true meaning of city love.

Quick & Dirty: A contemporary romance based in NYC and told from the perspective of three roommates.

Opening Sentence: The enormity of the situation hits me at the most random time.

Excerpt: Yes

The Review:

The story is told from each of the three roommates perspectives, which was interesting because not only did it allow me to see what the girls thought of each other, I was able to understand why they behaved the way they did. It was apparent that each girl has a secret that was always in the back of their minds, some darker than others but to each their secret weighs deeply.

I knew almost immediately that Sadie’s love story was too good to be true. It was far too perfect, and Austin matched the soul mate description like it was made for him. Love like that is too good to be true so I was just waiting for the bomb to explode. Sadie irritated me with her cheesiness and her romanticism, her soppiness was so over the top and the ‘right around the corner’ sign that she went on and on about took the biscuit! When Austin hesitated to take Sadie to Jersey City, then started giving evasive answers, I  had a gut feeling that his secret would mess everything up. And it did.

“Are you saying that anyone who’s been married for a long time is vulnerable to falling in love with someone else?” Rosanna asks.
“Anyone is vulnerable to falling in love with someone else, married or not. You can’t choose who you fall in love with.”

Rosanna’s idealistic character was adorable, it’s clear that her past haunts her and she wants so much to believe the best in others but the darkness is always there, threatening to seep in. I’m glad she met D and although their love story wasn’t as picture perfect as Sadie and Austin’s, I still can’t see it working long term. Rosanna has such strong beliefs and D pretty much goes against everything she believes in, especially since they are from two completely different worlds. D is insanely rich, whilst Rosanna survives on bagel dinners; I don’t think their attraction is strong enough to overcome their differences.

The final roommate appears to be the feistiest and the biggest cynic when it comes to love. Darcy wants to enjoy summer without any of the attachments that will inevitably break her heart. Without a doubt, Darcy was my favourite of the three, probably because I’m just as much of a cynic when it comes to love as she is. Her carefree attitude only worked for so long though because the love bug had hit their house and it wasn’t going to leave without infecting all three!

“Once you start considering a boy as BF material, all bets are off.” Darcy says. “He could be the worst possible boy for you and you don’t even see it.”
“You can’t see any red flags when you’re in it,” I say. “It doesn’t matter how many friends tell you he’s bad for you. They could point out his problems a thousand times and it wouldn’t matter. All you can see are the good parts.
“Love is blind,” Rosanna says.
“Love is crap,” Darcy declares.

I enjoy reading series, especially for paranormal fantasies but I didn’t expect there to be a part 2 of City Love, especially at such a crucial point in each of their stories. I found that rather off putting to be honest, because I wasn’t aware of it from the start, and I hate being left unprepared. Despite that, I am intrigued about their future and what happens to each of the roommates in their adventures of love, although I could do without the cheesiness!

Notable Scene:

“Do you know that soul mates are real?”

Austin laughs. “I love how you framed the question. People would usually ask something like, ‘Do you believe in soul mates?’”

“But soul mates are real. It’s not a matter of belief.”

“Like global warming.”

“Exactly. Asking someone if they believe in global warming is like asking if they’re smart. Only idiots refuse to believe in reality.”

“So if I don’t believe in soul mates…sorry, if I don’t know they’re real, then I’m an idiot?”

“No. You would just be uninformed, which is a completely different thing. Then I would school you and you’d know.”

skull2

FTC Advisory: Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins provided me with a copy of City Love. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

sig-DFT

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Related Posts with Thumbnails


You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


One Response to “Review: City Love by Susane Colasanti

  1. RabiahNo Gravatar
    1

    I didn’t really enjoy this one too much. I liked it, but as you said, it’s pretty cheesy. I will read book 2, but it’s not of those books I’m dying to get my hands on. Great review! :D

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
«
»