Posts     Comments    

Are You Following Me?


Grab My Button

My TBR Pile

Darkfaerietales's to-read book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Word Cloud

ARC Tour Blog Tour Book Expo of America Contemporary Contemporary Romance Contest Winner Convention Darynda Jones Deadly Destinations Dystopian Erotic Romance Fantastic Fables Fantasy Gini Koch Giveaway Guest Post High Fantasy Historical Historical Fiction Horror Interview Jennifer Estep Katherine "Kitty" Katt Series Mystery New Adult New Releases Paranormal Paranormal Romance Patricia Briggs Review Richelle Mead Romance RT Convention Science Fiction Seanan McGuire Spooky Legends Steampunk Supernatural Smack Down Taking Cover Thriller Urban Fantasy Vampires Waiting on Wednesday Winner Young Adult 12 Days of Christmas (31)
Across the Worlds (13)
ARC Tour (326)
Artist Alley (9)
Author Spotlight (11)
Author Update (7)
Awards (14)
Blog Tour (211)
Book Haul (8)
Book Talk (15)
Book Trailer (7)
Contest Winner (645)
Conventions (94)
Cover Judge (3)
Cover Reveal (7)
Dark Faerie Tales Launch (11)
Dark Faerie Tales Team (20)
Dating Games (17)
Deadly Destinations (139)
Discussion (36)
Event (42)
Fall Carnival (55)
Fantastic Fables (117)
Feature Friday (20)
Fifty Shades of Book Boys (40)
Fifty Shades of Sensuality (16)
Fifty Shades YA Boys (15)
Friday Reveal (1)
Giveaway (246)
Graphic Novels (5)
Guest Blogger (7)
Guest Post (143)
Help Wanted (10)
Interview (91)
Mating Games (19)
Movies (31)
New Releases (80)
Pick of Six (8)
Poll (1)
Publishing News (16)
Read-a-long (6)
Reading Challenge (25)
Remaking Covers (3)
Remnant Chronicles Read Along (3)
Review (2,256)
Spooky Legends (35)
Supernatural Smack Down (71)
Taking Cover (288)
Teaser Tuesday (7)
Television (5)
Throne & Court Week (6)
Top Ten of 2016 (7)
Trailer Thursday (22)
Video Games (5)
Waiting on Wednesday (32)
Who Needs A Hero (30)
Year in the Life of a Romance Review (3)

WP Cumulus Flash tag cloud by Roy Tanck and Luke Morton requires Flash Player 9 or better.

I Belong


Review: Cold Iron by D.L. McDermott

Cold IronTitle: Cold Iron

AuthorD.L. McDermott

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Series: Cold Iron (Book #1)

Publication Date: February 10, 2014

Format: eBook, 381 Pages

ISBN-10: 1476734399 (Simon & Schuster)

ISBN-13: 978-1476734392 (Simon & Schuster)

Reviewed by: Steph

Synopsis:

For fans of Jeaniene Frost and Kresley Cole, this full-length novel is the first in D.L. McDermott’s fast-paced, sexy paranormal romance series—available exclusively in ebook!

The Fae, the Good Neighbors, the Fair Folk, the Aes Sídhe, creatures of preternatural beauty and seduction. Archaeologist Beth Carter doesn’t believe in them. She’s always credited her extraordinary ability to identify ancient Celtic sites to hard work and intuition—until she discovers a tomb filled with ancient treasure but missing a body. Her ex-husband, the scholar who stifled her career to advance his own, is unconcerned. Corpses don’t fetch much on the antiquities market. Gold does. Beth knows from past experience that if she isn’t vigilant, Frank will make off with the hoard.

So when a man—tall, broad shouldered, and impossibly handsome—turns up in her bedroom claiming to be the tomb’s inhabitant, one of mythic god-kings of old Ireland, Beth believes it is a ploy cooked up by her ex-husband to scare her away from the excavation.

But Conn is all too real. Ancient, alien, irresistible, the Fae are the stuff of dreams and nightmares, their attentions so addictive their abandoned human lovers wither and die. And this one has fixed his supernatural desire on Beth

Quick & Dirty: An archaeologist discovers the existence of the Fae and must help a Fae lord find a sword that has the power to open the door to the Otherworld in order to prevent the Fae from returning, all while fighting an irresistible attraction to the man.

Opening Sentence: “If this is a tomb, then where’s the body?”

Excerpt: Yes

The Review:

I hadn’t heard anything about this series before starting the book, so I had no expectations going into it. The first five to ten percent of the book was extremely rough, and I thought I was in for a long, unpleasant read. Thankfully, this book is proof of the fact that even if a story starts out roughly, it can turn out great by the end because after I got past that first 10 percent, I couldn’t put the book down.

Beth is an archaeologist who has always had a knack for knowing where the great Celtic finds are going to be. This knack has consistently been exploited by her ex-husband, another archaeologist who has taken credit for each of Beth’s finds. Upon arriving back at the Irish inn she is staying at during one dig with her ex-husband, Beth is surprised to find a stranger in her room, one with abilities that no human has. He tells her his name is Conn, and he is a member of the Fae. He is bound to a sword named The Summoner, which until recently, had been housed in the mound Beth and her ex-husband were exploring. Turns out Beth’s ex has sticky fingers and took the sword. Now, Conn must find it before it’s used to open the doors to the Otherworld where the rest of the Fae have been locked away. While searching for the sword, Conn decides he also wouldn’t mind starting something up with Beth. Will she be able to resist the handsome Fae lord?

It is important to state up front that the Fae are not nice in this world, and that includes Conn. After he was introduced, I literally had to double check the synopsis to make sure he was the hero and not the villain. I was completely turned off. But then, something funny happened, and I somehow found myself liking Conn so much that I could totally overlook all the things he had done in his past. I have no idea how D.L. McDermott managed to do that, but I have to applaud her. Not only did I end up loving Conn, I also loved Miach, another Fae who is living amongst the humans, and I can’t wait to read his book.

I also really liked Beth. After everything her ex-husband put her through (and some of it is truly horrendous), she has managed to bounce back and turn herself into a totally independent and strong woman. Watching her face off with Conn and the other Fae, even knowing they have the power to glamour her, made me really like her and admire her spirit.

One tiny negative aspect of the book is that the point of view switches often and suddenly. I have no problem with multiple narrators, but the transitions between narrators were rough, and it would sometimes take me a minute to readjust to the new perspective. All in all though, this book was truly enjoyable. Be prepared for a rough start with an unlikeable hero, but know that it will improve quickly. I’m very much looking forward to book 2!

Notable Scene:

“I won’t let you leave with the sword.” She took a step forward, putting herself square in front of him.

The shock was plain on Frank’s face. She never stood up to him. Only that once, when she’d refused to identify another site for him. And he’d cooked up a piece of nastiness that had put her-oh, how it had put her-back in her place. Not anymore. “Give it to me.” She held her hand out, a plain demand.

For a second Frank looked quite affected. He offered her the weapon, hilt first. When she moved to take it, he snatched it back and spluttered with laughter.

“You didn’t really think I was going to hand it over, did you? What? So it can gather dust in some museum in Dublin? What do you care, Beth? You’re not going to get the credit for the dig. You’re never going to get the credit for a dig. And if you go on slumming with that Paddy, next time I won’t even let you come along.”

He took a step toward the door. Her anger boiled over. She grabbed the hilt of the sword, below where his hands clasped the cross guard, and pulled. He pulled back. In a game of tug-of-war with a man a foot taller and seventy pounds heavier than she was, she didn’t stand a chance. If she played fair.

But Frank never played fair, and tonight Beth wouldn’t either. She was wearing heels. Not spiky or high, just a two-inch kitten, but she stomped down on his instep with all of her pent-up fury. Frank howled and doubled over but didn’t relinquish his grip on the sword.

Neither did Beth. As Frank lurched forward, his weight drove the foible of the blade down, the razor shard edge heading straight for Beth’s neck. She dove to the side but not fast enough.

The blade whispered past her ear, and sliced through hair, velvet, sinew, blood, and bone.

Cold Iron Series:

1. Cold Iron

2. Silver Skin

3. Stone Song

4. Blade Dance (September 21, 2015)

crow4

FTC Advisory: Pocket Books/Simon & Schuster provided me with a copy of Cold Iron. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Related Posts with Thumbnails


You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Comments are closed.

«
»