Posts     Comments    

Are You Following Me?


Grab My Button

My TBR Pile

Darkfaerietales's to-read book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Word Cloud

ARC Tour Blog Tour Book Expo of America Chloe Neill Contemporary Contemporary Romance Contest Winner Convention Deadly Destinations Dystopian Erotic Romance Fantastic Fables Fantasy Gini Koch Giveaway Guest Post High Fantasy Historical Historical Fiction Horror Interview Jennifer Estep Katherine "Kitty" Katt Series Mystery New Adult New Releases Paranormal Paranormal Romance Patricia Briggs Review Richelle Mead Romance RT Convention Science Fiction Seanan McGuire Spooky Legends Steampunk Supernatural Smack Down Taking Cover Thriller Urban Fantasy Vampires Waiting on Wednesday Winner Young Adult 12 Days of Christmas (31)
Across the Worlds (13)
ARC Tour (326)
Artist Alley (9)
Author Spotlight (11)
Author Update (7)
Awards (14)
Blog Tour (211)
Book Haul (8)
Book Talk (15)
Book Trailer (7)
Contest Winner (645)
Conventions (94)
Cover Judge (3)
Cover Reveal (7)
Dark Faerie Tales Launch (11)
Dark Faerie Tales Team (20)
Dating Games (17)
Deadly Destinations (139)
Discussion (36)
Event (42)
Fall Carnival (55)
Fantastic Fables (117)
Feature Friday (20)
Fifty Shades of Book Boys (40)
Fifty Shades of Sensuality (16)
Fifty Shades YA Boys (15)
Friday Reveal (1)
Giveaway (264)
Graphic Novels (5)
Guest Blogger (7)
Guest Post (143)
Help Wanted (10)
Interview (91)
Mating Games (19)
Movies (31)
New Releases (80)
Pick of Six (8)
Poll (1)
Publishing News (16)
Read-a-long (6)
Reading Challenge (25)
Remaking Covers (3)
Remnant Chronicles Read Along (3)
Review (2,306)
Spooky Legends (35)
Supernatural Smack Down (71)
Taking Cover (288)
Teaser Tuesday (7)
Television (5)
Throne & Court Week (6)
Top Ten of 2016 (7)
Trailer Thursday (22)
Video Games (5)
Waiting on Wednesday (32)
Who Needs A Hero (30)
Year in the Life of a Romance Review (3)

WP Cumulus Flash tag cloud by Roy Tanck and Luke Morton requires Flash Player 9 or better.

I Belong


Early Review: Geek Girl by Holly Smale

Geek GirlTitle: Geek Girl

AuthorHolly Smale

Genre: YA Contemporary

Series: Geek Girl (Book #1)

Publication Date: January 27, 2015

Format: Hardcover, 384 Pages

ISBN-10: 0062333577 (HarperTeen)

ISBN-13: 978-0062333575 (HarperTeen)

Reviewed by: Kaitlin

Synopsis:

Geek + runway = a runaway UK hit! Geek Girl is the first book in a hilarious, internationally bestselling series that’s perfect for fans of Louise Rennison and The Princess Diaries.

Harriet Manners is a geek. She always has been, and she thought she always would be—but when she’s discovered by a modeling agent, she leaps at the chance to reinvent herself. There’s only one problem: Harriet is the definition of awkward. Can she transform from geek to chic?

Quick & Dirty: This novel was fluffy and lots of fun. It’s being re-released in the US for the first time!

Opening Sentence:

geek

gi:k/
informal
noun
noun: geek; plural noun: geeks
1. an unfashionable or socially inept person.

Excerpt: No

The Review:

Harriet Manners is a geek. She recites random facts and reads the dictionary for fun. She is smarter than many of her teachers. Unfortunately, while this may help her fill in the bubbles on a scantron, it doesn’t help with her social life. She’s teased incessantly and she and her classmates don’t exactly see eye to eye. So when she’s unexpectedly spotted by a modeling agency, she sees the chance to become more than a geek, to be someone cool and interesting. No matter that she has to go behind her best friend and stepmother’s back to do so —- it’ll all work out in the end, right?

Geek Girl is not like books I have read in the past. It is written differently, it’s very light and cute, it’s super quirky. And I loved it. This adorable book made me giggle quite a lot when reading with its dialogue and Harriet’s point of view. The love interest is not a main focus, though he is there, and he is cute. I do wish we got to see more of Nick, though I’m guessing the next few books will have him, because it is a series —- yay! Watching Harriet stumble through a new life was lots of fun, and I think it was an enjoyable use of my time. Anyone in the mood for a contemporary, particularly one that is fluffy and funny, will love this. I also think those in book hangovers might benefit from a novel like Geek Girl. It was fresh and unique from other books and it’s highlighted in my mind as something I would read again if I’m ever feeling sad.

Harriet Manners is a geek. She reads dictionaries for fun and is constantly teased. When she gets the chance she decides to remake herself, to become a model and hopefully grow into a person that people look up to. One of my favorite things about Harriet was her constant stream of facts and definitions off the top of her head. Maybe in another book, the interruption from the main plot would have bothered me, but in this one it just made me enjoy it all the more. I also love the way she is relatable. She makes mistakes and tries to fix them. She gets sad. She has crushes. She is a realistic teenage girl, emotionwise. I really felt for Harriet as she embarrassed herself time and time again, you could tell that she was out of her element and trying the best she could.

We didn’t get to see much of Nick, the love interest, but when we did they had the most hilarious conversations. They first met when they were both hiding under the same table. They didn’t have traditional chemistry, but I thought they were cute together and they always managed to make me smile. Nick is a male model that Harriet does some jobs with and he helps Harriet out with her awkwardness on camera. I also really liked Harriet’s parents. Her father was as quirky as she was and Annabel was a lawyer who had some snarky lines as well. Harriet’s best friend was a great character, as well as her agent. In short, I basically loved all the characters in Geek Girl!

Geek Girl was a cute book that I don’t regret reading. Knowing its a series, I can’t say if I’ll ever pick up the next books. I loved the characters, the dialogue, and he message. I liked how Harriet developed and how she was a likeable narrator and I enjoyed the scenes with Nick. I think it’s cool how the author went through what Harriet went through, being unexpectedly spotted by a modeling agency, and that she wrote a book from the perspective of someone with a similar experience. It was a hilarious story and really easy to get into. There aren’t really many deep or moving moments, which is why it’s a four star. It’s very fluffy. But nevertheless, I enjoyed my experience with this novel immensely and think that it deserves more recognition.

Notable Scene:

The building has always scared me. When I was young, I refused to come in alone when Annabel was working late because I thought it was haunted.

“It’s not haunted,” dad said when I told him. “Haunted building are full of souls with no bodies. A lawyer’s office if full of bodies with no souls. That’s a big difference.”

And then he’d laughed and laughed until Annabel put salt in his wineglass.

The Geek Girl Series:

1. Geek Girl

2. Model Misfit

3. Picture Perfect

4. All That Glitters

skull4

FTC AdvisoryHarperCollins provided me with this copy of Geek Girl.  No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

sig-DFT

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Related Posts with Thumbnails


You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


One Response to “Early Review: Geek Girl by Holly Smale

  1. NatashaNo Gravatar
    1

    I’d love to read a book like this. Nice review! Looking forward to reading it :D

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
«
»