Posts     Comments    

Are You Following Me?

Grab My Button

My TBR Pile

Darkfaerietales's to-read book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Word Cloud

ARC Tour Blog Tour Book Expo of America Chloe Neill Contemporary Contemporary Romance Contest Winner Convention Deadly Destinations Dystopian Erotic Romance Fantastic Fables Fantasy Gini Koch Giveaway Guest Post High Fantasy Historical Historical Fiction Horror Interview Jennifer Estep Katherine "Kitty" Katt Series Mystery New Adult New Releases Paranormal Paranormal Romance Patricia Briggs Review Richelle Mead Romance RT Convention Science Fiction Seanan McGuire Spooky Legends Steampunk Supernatural Smack Down Taking Cover Thriller Urban Fantasy Vampires Waiting on Wednesday Winner Young Adult 12 Days of Christmas (31)
Across the Worlds (13)
ARC Tour (326)
Artist Alley (9)
Author Spotlight (11)
Author Update (7)
Awards (14)
Blog Tour (211)
Book Haul (8)
Book Talk (15)
Book Trailer (7)
Contest Winner (645)
Conventions (94)
Cover Judge (8)
Cover Reveal (12)
Dark Faerie Tales Launch (11)
Dark Faerie Tales Team (20)
Dating Games (17)
Deadly Destinations (139)
Discussion (36)
Event (42)
Fall Carnival (55)
Fantastic Fables (117)
Feature Friday (20)
Fifty Shades of Book Boys (40)
Fifty Shades of Sensuality (16)
Fifty Shades YA Boys (15)
Friday Reveal (1)
Giveaway (266)
Graphic Novels (5)
Guest Blogger (7)
Guest Post (143)
Help Wanted (10)
Interview (91)
Mating Games (19)
Movies (31)
New Releases (80)
Pick of Six (8)
Poll (1)
Publishing News (16)
Read-a-long (6)
Reading Challenge (25)
Remaking Covers (3)
Remnant Chronicles Read Along (3)
Review (2,326)
Spooky Legends (35)
Supernatural Smack Down (71)
Taking Cover (288)
Teaser Tuesday (7)
Television (5)
Throne & Court Week (6)
Top Ten of 2016 (7)
Trailer Thursday (22)
Video Games (5)
Waiting on Wednesday (37)
Who Needs A Hero (30)
Year in the Life of a Romance Review (3)

WP Cumulus Flash tag cloud by Roy Tanck and Luke Morton requires Flash Player 9 or better.

I Belong

Review: Heart of Stone by Christine Warren

heart-of-stoneTitle: Heart of Stone

Author: Christine Warren

Genre: Paranormal Romance

Series: Gargoyles (Book #1)

Publication Date: December 31, 2013

Format: Paperback, 320 Pages

ISBN-10: 1250012651 (St.Martin’s/Macmillan)

ISBN-13: 978-1250012654 (St.Martin’s/Macmillan)

Reviewed by: Roxanne


From bestselling author Christine Warren comes a thrilling new series about a young woman caught between a rock and a hard place—between gargoyles and demons…

Ella Harrow is trying to carve out a normal life for herself. Well, as normal as an art geek with psychic abilities can hope for. As museum docent and gift-shop manager, Ella is able to keep her distance from people—and her powers in check—while surrounding herself with the artifacts she loves. But how on earth is she supposed to act normal when a thousand-year-old statue on the museum’s terrace suddenly comes to life?

Heart of Stone

Not your ordinary gargoyle, Kees has been asleep for eons, waiting for a portent of evil to wake him from his slumber. Kees isn’t a vision; he’s a bat-winged guardian created to protect the world from the seven demons of the Dark. Somehow, Ella triggered his reawakening. Maybe the demons have been unleashed? Maybe his heart is finally ready to be chiseled open? The fate of the world isn’t carved in stone…yet.

Quick & Dirty: A fledgling mage and an ancient gargoyle, can they wake the others before it is too late?

Opening Sentence: “Ella Harrow fully supported the notion that people with excessive amounts of money should donate large sums of it to worthy causes, and she counted her employer-the Vancouver Museum of Art and History-as among the worthiest.”

Excerpt: Yes

The Review:

Ella is working at an event at the Museum when she is accosted by a sleazy guest. When her distress wakes a sleeping gargoyle known as a Guardian, Ella is sure she has lost her mind. When Kees begins to tell her about demons and the seven she knows she is crazy. Later, he talks to her about her magic and Ella begins to realize that she isn’t crazy. He explains that the Gargoyles were summoned eons ago to help protect the world against the Order of Darkness. The Guardians normally have Wardens that wake the Guardians in times of need. However, when Ella searches out Kees’s Warden they find he died. In fact, the Guild that works with the Guardians has suffered numerous deaths in the last 10 years.

Ella and Kees know that the Darkness has been systematically taking out the Guild and they begin to fear that they won’t find any living members. When Ella finds one possible member after searching genealogy records, they set out to see him. When they arrive, Alan’s filled with joy that a Guardian is awake. He tells them that the Guild has lost contact with all the members and every time they tried to replace a Warden to awaken a Guardian they were killed.

Now Ella and Kees are in a race against time to find the missing Guardians, and to find a way to wake them so they can save the world.

I haven’t read that many gargoyle books, so plus for that. I enjoyed this overall, in fact, I am probably going to read the rest of the series because I kind of need to know what is going on. However, instead of a typical fantasy or paranormal book with one main character, I think this one will be laid out in a romance series fashion with each book featuring a new Guardian and a new woman. So it will be interesting to see how this all plays out.

Ella is a great main character, feisty and full of magic! Plus, a great judge of character with interesting friends! Kees is sort of a typical man or gargoyle, he really doesn’t believe he can feel and he doesn’t understand why he is so drawn to Ella. Together they are a little bit of insta-love, but a whole lot of fun. The worldbuilding is good, and the background story is strong. If you are looking for something a little different than this series is probably just right for you!

Notable Scene:

The Guardians had been formed from stone, carved by the powers of Light, and summoned from the ether into bodies as hard and enduring as their mission. They needed to be tough, strong, impervious to all but the fiercest attack; otherwise, they could never succeed in keeping the demons of the Darkness at bay. Like mountains of rock, he and his brothers withstood the forces of evil that buffeted them wearing them down the opposition until it could be banished into the prisons of the barren planes.

Gargoyles Series:

1. Heart of Stone

2. Stone Cold Lover

3. Hard as a Rock

4. Rocked by Love

5. Hard to Handle (February 7, 2017)


FTC Advisory: St.Martin’s Paperbacks/Macmillan provided me with a copy of Heart of Stone. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Related Posts with Thumbnails

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.