Posts     Comments    

Are You Following Me?


Grab My Button

My TBR Pile

Darkfaerietales's to-read book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Word Cloud

ARC Tour Blog Tour Book Expo of America Chloe Neill Contemporary Contemporary Romance Contest Winner Convention Deadly Destinations Dystopian Erotic Romance Fantastic Fables Fantasy Gini Koch Giveaway Guest Post High Fantasy Historical Historical Fiction Horror Interview Jennifer Estep Katherine "Kitty" Katt Series Mystery New Adult New Releases Paranormal Paranormal Romance Patricia Briggs Review Richelle Mead Romance RT Convention Science Fiction Seanan McGuire Spooky Legends Steampunk Supernatural Smack Down Taking Cover Thriller Urban Fantasy Vampires Waiting on Wednesday Winner Young Adult 12 Days of Christmas (31)
Across the Worlds (13)
ARC Tour (326)
Artist Alley (9)
Author Spotlight (11)
Author Update (7)
Awards (14)
Blog Tour (211)
Book Haul (8)
Book Talk (15)
Book Trailer (7)
Contest Winner (645)
Conventions (94)
Cover Judge (3)
Cover Reveal (7)
Dark Faerie Tales Launch (11)
Dark Faerie Tales Team (20)
Dating Games (17)
Deadly Destinations (139)
Discussion (36)
Event (42)
Fall Carnival (55)
Fantastic Fables (117)
Feature Friday (20)
Fifty Shades of Book Boys (40)
Fifty Shades of Sensuality (16)
Fifty Shades YA Boys (15)
Friday Reveal (1)
Giveaway (264)
Graphic Novels (5)
Guest Blogger (7)
Guest Post (143)
Help Wanted (10)
Interview (91)
Mating Games (19)
Movies (31)
New Releases (80)
Pick of Six (8)
Poll (1)
Publishing News (16)
Read-a-long (6)
Reading Challenge (25)
Remaking Covers (3)
Remnant Chronicles Read Along (3)
Review (2,305)
Spooky Legends (35)
Supernatural Smack Down (71)
Taking Cover (288)
Teaser Tuesday (7)
Television (5)
Throne & Court Week (6)
Top Ten of 2016 (7)
Trailer Thursday (22)
Video Games (5)
Waiting on Wednesday (32)
Who Needs A Hero (30)
Year in the Life of a Romance Review (3)

WP Cumulus Flash tag cloud by Roy Tanck and Luke Morton requires Flash Player 9 or better.

I Belong


Review: Lies I Told by Michelle Zink

Lies I ToldTitleLies I Told

AuthorMichelle Zink

Genre: YA Thriller

Series: Lies I Told (Book #1)

Publication Date: April 7, 2015

Format: Hardcover, 352 Pages

ISBN-10: 0062327127 (HarperTeen)

ISBN-13: 978-0062327123 (HarperTeen)

Reviewed by: Kaitlin

Synopsis:

Grace Fontaine has everything: beauty, money, confidence, and the perfect family. But it’s all a lie.

Grace has been adopted into a family of thieves who con affluent people out of money, jewelry, art, and anything else of value. Grace has never had any difficulty pulling off a job, but when things start to go wrong on the Fontaines’ biggest heist yet, Grace finds herself breaking more and more of the rules designed to keep her from getting caught . . . including the most important one of all: never fall for your mark.

Perfect for fans of Ally Carter and Robin Benway, this thrilling, high-stakes novel deftly explores the roles of identity and loyalty while offering a window into the world of the rich and fabulous.

Quick & Dirty: This book was suspenseful and atmospheric, and I enjoyed the lush setting.

Opening Sentence: Looking back, I should have known Playa Hermosa was the beginning of the end.

Excerpt: Yes

The Review:

Grace and her adopted family move around the world, never staying in one place too long. They are con-artists, sinking into a community to get close to people for the intel they need before taking their money and throwing away their fake identifies for new ones. Grace’s brother, Preston, isn’t a fan of this lifestyle, and Grace isn’t sure if she is either. Every time they move around, she has to be a fake, plastic version of herself, until she is no longer sure who she is. And the lies keep stacking up — she can hardly see the truth now. The guilt, regret, and doubt are weighing down on her. But with all that she has done, is there really any way to redeem herself? And how can she get herself out of this situation?

Then Grace’s family arrives at a small, beautiful California town where a paranoid man has stockpiled twenty million dollars in gold bars. This will be their biggest con yet, if they can achieve it, but also the most dangerous. Grace’s job: get close to the man’s son, Logan, and learn more about the house to discover where the bars are hidden. Grace is good at being social and faking her way into the right groups of friends. But this time is different. She suddenly can’t ignore how the lies are stacking up, and the unmistakable feelings she has for Logan. These feelings are dangerous. Before starting Lies I Told, I had read quite a few reviews, and they were generally positive. That being said, I moved into the story with an open mindset and some set expectations. For the most part, it impressed me, though I had a couple of problems with the book as a whole.

Grace was the main character and narrator of this story. I liked her — she was strong, but also a realistic character with plenty of guilt, regret, and doubts. Being in the situation she was in couldn’t have been pleasant, choosing between her “family” and being honest. She felt trapped, a lot. She also often doubted whether all the moving, all the lying, all the layers of herself that she had built for jobs, was worth it. Their “parents” used her brother and herself to help in the charade. I think that they did love them, but not enough to let them make their own decisions. Yet she managed to retain her moral compass through the book, and that made me respect her character. She was an easy enough POV to sink into, and I liked how she could appreciate the beauty in different things and people.

Logan and Grace’s connection was instant. Okay, I don’t know how many times I’ve said this, but I’m sort of done with the whole “love at first sight” thing. It happens way too often in YA books these days and isn’t very realistic. I’m clearly not a fan. Logan’s a nice kid, and he and Grace are cute together, but the insta-love spoiled the whole relationship for me. Every time they kissed I was irritated. Also, I wish that Grace had given Logan some sort of warning, a hint, that she was not to be trusted. It wasn’t fair to him, the whole situation. It was upsetting to me that all that Logan ever had done was open up his heart to Grace in the most sincere ways, while she kept feeding him lie after lie.

Altogether, I found Lies I Told to be a satisfying first book. I didn’t even realize that it was in a series until the last couple pages, when I saw that there was so much left unresolved. The cover for the second book has been revealed, and I’m interested to see where Zink takes the story next, since it could go in any number of ways: it was sort of left up in the air. The characters were done well, though I wish Grace had developed a tad bit more (we’ll probably see that in the second book). There was a plot twist at the end that I did not see coming and further proved the point that Grace owed her “parents” nothing. I loved the beautiful imagery of the California setting, and how the words appealed to all five senses. One thing I also wish had been more present in the novel was humor. A good laugh might had bolstered my thoughts about it higher. Anyone looking for a thought-provoking story with suspense, action, and a strong tone will enjoy this book!

Notable Scene:

“Selena Rodriguez.” My mom repeated the name. “Was she in the subject files?”

I shook my head. “I needed a place to sit and ended up at her table. She’s nice.”

She smiled. “I’m glad you’ve made a friend. Maybe you can use her.”

I flashed on Selena’s clear brown eyes, her unguarded smile. Something twisted in my stomach, and I immediately regretted mentioning her. “Yeah, maybe.”

Lies I Told Series:

1. Lies I Told

2. Promises I Made (November 24, 2015)

crow4

FTC Advisory: HarperTeen provided me with a copy of Lies I Told. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

sig-DFT

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Related Posts with Thumbnails


You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Comments are closed.

«
»