Posts     Comments    

Are You Following Me?


Grab My Button

My TBR Pile

Darkfaerietales's to-read book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Word Cloud

ARC Tour Blog Tour Book Expo of America Chloe Neill Contemporary Contemporary Romance Contest Winner Convention Deadly Destinations Dystopian Erotic Romance Fantastic Fables Fantasy Gini Koch Giveaway Guest Post High Fantasy Historical Historical Fiction Horror Interview Jennifer Estep Katherine "Kitty" Katt Series Mystery New Adult New Releases Paranormal Paranormal Romance Patricia Briggs Review Richelle Mead Romance RT Convention Science Fiction Seanan McGuire Spooky Legends Steampunk Supernatural Smack Down Taking Cover Thriller Urban Fantasy Vampires Waiting on Wednesday Winner Young Adult 12 Days of Christmas (31)
Across the Worlds (13)
ARC Tour (326)
Artist Alley (9)
Author Spotlight (11)
Author Update (7)
Awards (14)
Blog Tour (211)
Book Haul (8)
Book Talk (15)
Book Trailer (7)
Contest Winner (645)
Conventions (94)
Cover Judge (3)
Cover Reveal (7)
Dark Faerie Tales Launch (11)
Dark Faerie Tales Team (20)
Dating Games (17)
Deadly Destinations (139)
Discussion (36)
Event (42)
Fall Carnival (55)
Fantastic Fables (117)
Feature Friday (20)
Fifty Shades of Book Boys (40)
Fifty Shades of Sensuality (16)
Fifty Shades YA Boys (15)
Friday Reveal (1)
Giveaway (264)
Graphic Novels (5)
Guest Blogger (7)
Guest Post (143)
Help Wanted (10)
Interview (91)
Mating Games (19)
Movies (31)
New Releases (80)
Pick of Six (8)
Poll (1)
Publishing News (16)
Read-a-long (6)
Reading Challenge (25)
Remaking Covers (3)
Remnant Chronicles Read Along (3)
Review (2,306)
Spooky Legends (35)
Supernatural Smack Down (71)
Taking Cover (288)
Teaser Tuesday (7)
Television (5)
Throne & Court Week (6)
Top Ten of 2016 (7)
Trailer Thursday (22)
Video Games (5)
Waiting on Wednesday (32)
Who Needs A Hero (30)
Year in the Life of a Romance Review (3)

WP Cumulus Flash tag cloud by Roy Tanck and Luke Morton requires Flash Player 9 or better.

I Belong


Review: I’m Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl by Gretchen McNeil

im-not-your-manic-pixie-dream-girlTitleI’m Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl

Author: Gretchen McNeil

Genre: YA Contemporary

Series: N/A

Publication Date: October 18, 2016

Format: Hardcover, 352 Pages

ISBN-10: 0062409115 (HarperTeen)

ISBN-13: 9780062409119 (HarperTeen)

Reviewed by: Bridget

Synopsis:

From acclaimed author Gretchen McNeil comes her first realistic contemporary romance—perfect for fans of Kody Keplinger’s The Duff and Morgan Matson’s Since You’ve Been Gone.

Beatrice Maria Estrella Giovannini has life all figured out. She’s starting senior year at the top of her class, she’s a shoo-in for a scholarship to M.I.T., and she’s got a new boyfriend she’s crazy about. The only problem: All through high school Bea and her best friends Spencer and Gabe have been the targets of horrific bullying.

So Bea uses her math skills to come up with The Formula, a 100% mathematically guaranteed path to social happiness in high school. Now Gabe is on his way to becoming Student Body President, and Spencer is finally getting his art noticed. But when her boyfriend Jesse dumps her for Toile, the quirky new girl at school, Bea realizes it’s time to use The Formula for herself. She’ll be reinvented as the eccentric and lovable Trixie—a quintessential manic pixie dream girl—in order to win Jesse back and beat new-girl Toile at her own game.

Unfortunately, being a manic pixie dream girl isn’t all it’s cracked up to be, and “Trixie” is causing unexpected consequences for her friends. As The Formula begins to break down, can Bea find a way to reclaim her true identity and fix everything she’s messed up? Or will the casualties of her manic pixie experiment go far deeper than she could possibly imagine?

Quick & Dirty: Adorable story with a wonderful message and lots of great humor. If you are looking for a fun light read you should check this one out!

Opening Sentence: “You’re not late, Beatrice,” my mom said as she rolled the Prius to as stop in from of Spencer’s house at exactly two minutes to eight.

Excerpt: No

The Review:

Beatrice or better known as Bea is not your typical high school senior! She has always excelled academically and she has a very good chance of earning a scholarship to MIT. But she has experienced one thing most high school students experience and that is being bullied. For the last three years she and her two best friends, Spencer and Gabe, have suffered from bullying more then most and Bea has decided she is going to do something about it!

She creates a mathematical formula that is sure to be a success, but like all things in life nothing is a guarantee! At first it seems like the formula is perfect since Gabe is on his way to becoming the class president and Spencer’s art is finally getting the attention he has always deserved. But when Bea tries the formula on herself it doesn’t work out quite how she was expecting!

Bea was a very amusing character! She is very charismatic, smart, and bubbly! She is one of those people you admire and kind of wish you were more like but at the same time she had flaws! Just like most people in the world she is unsure of certain things about her so she decides to run an experiment to see if she can fix her insecurities! Her journey was hilarious, entertaining, emotional and inspiring! I found her easy to relate to and really enjoyed reading her story!

Gabe was the perfect best friend! I adored him and just thought he was written so perfectly! He is very outspoken, opinionated and reliable! He is gay but it didn’t feel forced or like a marketing ploy, which sadly it does in so many books nowadays! It just felt natural and he was a great addition to the story!

I pretty much fell in love with Spencer right away. He is sweet, reserved, and respectful. I loved that he was willing to step way out of his comfort zone to help Bea with her experiment! He is shy and has a hard time expressing himself outside of his art. I enjoyed watching him learn to open up and truly let others see the real him! He was the perfect calm to Bea’s electrifying personality!

I’m Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl is such an adorable, quirky, fun story that I really enjoyed! It is very different from anything else I have read by McNeil but it just proves to me that she can write anything! One of the reasons why she is such an amazing author is because she knows how to write diverse, relatable characters you can’t help but love. I also love that she delivered a very inspirational message in such a fun and entertaining way! The romance was adorable, the pacing was spot on and the plot kept me interested! The only complaint I had was that it was a little too predictable at times but it was still a fun read! If you are looking for a cute, light contemporary with sweet romance and a wonderful message you must pick this one up!

Notable Scene:

Something was percolating inside me, that familiar flutter of excitement I got whenever I was on the brink of a mathematical breakthrough. There was always a moment when I shifted my perspective, and in an instant, all the elements would come together with a beautiful simplicity that made me feel like a moron for not having seen it before.

This was one of those moments.

Our current sociological predicament could be boiled down to a simple linear equation. We knew the result, i.e., a tolerable school environment where we weren’t living in fear of an ass kicking every five minutes. I just had to work backward from there.

skull4

FTC Advisory: HarperTeen provided me with a copy of I’m Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

sig-DFT

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Related Posts with Thumbnails


You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


One Response to “Review: I’m Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl by Gretchen McNeil

  1. Lauren @ Always MeNo Gravatar
    1

    I’ve seen this around the blogosphere and it sounds very good. Great reveiw!

    Lauren @ Always Me

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
«
»