Posts     Comments    

Are You Following Me?


Grab My Button

My TBR Pile

Darkfaerietales's to-read book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Word Cloud

ARC Tour Blog Tour Book Expo of America Chloe Neill Contemporary Contemporary Romance Contest Winner Convention Deadly Destinations Dystopian Erotic Romance Fantastic Fables Fantasy Gini Koch Giveaway Guest Post High Fantasy Historical Historical Fiction Horror Interview Jennifer Estep Katherine "Kitty" Katt Series Mystery New Adult New Releases Paranormal Paranormal Romance Patricia Briggs Review Richelle Mead Romance RT Convention Science Fiction Seanan McGuire Spooky Legends Steampunk Supernatural Smack Down Taking Cover Thriller Urban Fantasy Vampires Waiting on Wednesday Winner Young Adult 12 Days of Christmas (31)
Across the Worlds (13)
ARC Tour (326)
Artist Alley (9)
Author Spotlight (11)
Author Update (7)
Awards (14)
Blog Tour (211)
Book Haul (8)
Book Talk (15)
Book Trailer (7)
Contest Winner (645)
Conventions (94)
Cover Judge (3)
Cover Reveal (7)
Dark Faerie Tales Launch (11)
Dark Faerie Tales Team (20)
Dating Games (17)
Deadly Destinations (139)
Discussion (36)
Event (42)
Fall Carnival (55)
Fantastic Fables (117)
Feature Friday (20)
Fifty Shades of Book Boys (40)
Fifty Shades of Sensuality (16)
Fifty Shades YA Boys (15)
Friday Reveal (1)
Giveaway (264)
Graphic Novels (5)
Guest Blogger (7)
Guest Post (143)
Help Wanted (10)
Interview (91)
Mating Games (19)
Movies (31)
New Releases (80)
Pick of Six (8)
Poll (1)
Publishing News (16)
Read-a-long (6)
Reading Challenge (25)
Remaking Covers (3)
Remnant Chronicles Read Along (3)
Review (2,306)
Spooky Legends (35)
Supernatural Smack Down (71)
Taking Cover (288)
Teaser Tuesday (7)
Television (5)
Throne & Court Week (6)
Top Ten of 2016 (7)
Trailer Thursday (22)
Video Games (5)
Waiting on Wednesday (32)
Who Needs A Hero (30)
Year in the Life of a Romance Review (3)

WP Cumulus Flash tag cloud by Roy Tanck and Luke Morton requires Flash Player 9 or better.

I Belong


Review: Sleep No More by Aprilynne Pike

Sleep No MoreTitleSleep No More

AuthorAprilynne Pike

Genre: YA Fantasy

Series: N/A

Publication Date: April 29, 2014

Format: Hardcover, 352 Pages

ISBN-10: 0061999032 (HarperTeen)

ISBN-13: 978-0061999031 (HarperTeen)

Reviewed by: Kaitlin

Synopsis

The blockbuster film Inception meets Lisa McMann’s Wake trilogy in this dark paranormal thriller from #1 New York Times bestselling author Aprilynne Pike. This novel is also perfect for fans of Kelley Armstrong, Alyson Noel, and Kimberly Derting.

Charlotte Westing has a gift. She is an Oracle and has the ability to tell the future. But it doesn’t do her much good. Instead of using their miraculous power, modern-day Oracles are told to fight their visions—to refrain from interfering. And Charlotte knows the price of breaking the rules. She sees it every day in her wheelchair-bound mother and the absence of her father. But when a premonition of a classmate’s death is too strong for her to ignore, Charlotte is forced to make an impossible decision: continue following the rules or risk everything—even her sanity—to stop the serial killer who is stalking her town.

Quick & Dirty: Sleep No More is rich with mystery and darkness. All throughout the book, new clues piece together in an engaging novel that will have your heart beating.

Opening SentenceI sit on the itchy couch and stare at mommy’s eyes, wishing for them to open.

ExcerptYes

The Review:

Charlotte is an oracle, and can see visions, except hers are more of a blessing than a curse. One day she sees a vision of a murder, and as she struggles to respect the rules of all oracles (including “don’t interfere”) she must pair up with a man named Smith who may or may not be trustworthy.

I enjoyed Sleep No More — finished it a day, in fact. I had previously read Pike’s Wings series, and loved the beautiful way she wrote and the world-building. She did not disappoint in this one, and although there were areas I expected more in, I was impressed altogether and finished it easily. Let me tell you my favorite thing about Sleep No More: the action. It was a constant page-turner and I was engaged wholly in Charlotte’s life. In some books, even books I love, there are periods of 20 pages that lag and make me take a break, but in this one, there wasn’t a single time that happened. I must warn you, this book is bloody and gruesome. When Charlotte is seeing the murders in her oracle visions, they aren’t pretty: “Deep red liquid pools under her neck, still dripping from her unmoving body. The puddle spreads as I watch, and the slice across her neck gapes in a grotesque display that makes my whole body rebel.” It isn’t for the fainthearted. If you can survive through Twilight’s birth scene, though, you are set!

Let’s talk about Charlotte. Her character is strong and not afraid to think for herself. I wish there had been more character development, as she went from strong to stronger. For example, Lena (Delerium), learns to think for herself, leaves the weak and believing girl she was behind. Charlotte didn’t have such a big change in perspective as I would have liked, considering the ordeal she goes through. While we’re on the subject of things I expected better of, I didn’t think the writing style was as pretty as Wings. It’s the same author, but from first person instead of third person omninescent, which made a different in my opinion. It didn’t feel as lyrical and unique, but then again, I haven’t read Wings in a while — maybe they aren’t that different.

The love story was cute until a huge plot twist at the end, something unexpected that I didn’t see coming. In fact, a lot of the best parts of the book are in plot twists at the end. Anyway, I was excited by the sudden change and I loved how Pike veered from the path of other romances. Linden himself was adorable, but didn’t seem as into the relationship as Charlotte was, so I didn’t appreciate him as much as I could’ve.

Hmm, I think that concludes my thoughts about Sleep No More. It was an exciting, enjoyable read perfect for fans of Harry Potter, and just increased my love for this author. Check out this novel and put it on your TBR list because you won’t regret it.

Notable Scene:

Then I freeze.

Bethany laughs and touches her friend’s shoulder.

I didn’t think about her face in the vision. Didn’t worry about identifying her.

All I saw was that cut. The blood.

She’s alive.

For now.

But she’s wearing those maroon ballet flats.

skull4

FTC Advisory: HarperTeen provided me with a copy of Sleep No More. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

sig-DFT

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Related Posts with Thumbnails


You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Comments are closed.

«
»