Posts     Comments    

Are You Following Me?


Grab My Button

My TBR Pile

Darkfaerietales's to-read book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Word Cloud

ARC Tour Blog Tour Book Expo of America Chloe Neill Contemporary Contemporary Romance Contest Winner Convention Deadly Destinations Dystopian Erotic Romance Fantastic Fables Fantasy Gini Koch Giveaway Guest Post High Fantasy Historical Historical Fiction Horror Interview Jennifer Estep Katherine "Kitty" Katt Series Mystery New Adult New Releases Paranormal Paranormal Romance Patricia Briggs Review Richelle Mead Romance RT Convention Science Fiction Seanan McGuire Spooky Legends Steampunk Supernatural Smack Down Taking Cover Thriller Urban Fantasy Vampires Waiting on Wednesday Winner Young Adult 12 Days of Christmas (31)
Across the Worlds (13)
ARC Tour (326)
Artist Alley (9)
Author Spotlight (11)
Author Update (7)
Awards (14)
Blog Tour (211)
Book Haul (8)
Book Talk (15)
Book Trailer (7)
Contest Winner (645)
Conventions (94)
Cover Judge (3)
Cover Reveal (7)
Dark Faerie Tales Launch (11)
Dark Faerie Tales Team (20)
Dating Games (17)
Deadly Destinations (139)
Discussion (36)
Event (42)
Fall Carnival (55)
Fantastic Fables (117)
Feature Friday (20)
Fifty Shades of Book Boys (40)
Fifty Shades of Sensuality (16)
Fifty Shades YA Boys (15)
Friday Reveal (1)
Giveaway (264)
Graphic Novels (5)
Guest Blogger (7)
Guest Post (143)
Help Wanted (10)
Interview (91)
Mating Games (19)
Movies (31)
New Releases (80)
Pick of Six (8)
Poll (1)
Publishing News (16)
Read-a-long (6)
Reading Challenge (25)
Remaking Covers (3)
Remnant Chronicles Read Along (3)
Review (2,306)
Spooky Legends (35)
Supernatural Smack Down (71)
Taking Cover (288)
Teaser Tuesday (7)
Television (5)
Throne & Court Week (6)
Top Ten of 2016 (7)
Trailer Thursday (22)
Video Games (5)
Waiting on Wednesday (32)
Who Needs A Hero (30)
Year in the Life of a Romance Review (3)

WP Cumulus Flash tag cloud by Roy Tanck and Luke Morton requires Flash Player 9 or better.

I Belong


Review: A Step Toward Falling by Cammie McGovern

A Step Toward FallingTitle: A Step Toward Falling

Author: Cammie McGovern

Genre: YA Contemporary

Series: N/A

Publication Date: October 6, 2015

Format: Hardcover, 368 Pages

ISBN-10: 006227113X (HarperTeen)

ISBN-13: 978-0062271136 (HarperTeen)

Reviewed by: Zed

Synopsis:

Cammie McGovern follows up her breakout young adult debut, Say What You Will, with this powerful and unforgettable novel about learning from your mistakes, and learning to forgive. Told in alternating points of view, A Step Toward Falling is a poignant, hopeful, and altogether stunning work that will appeal to fans of Jennifer Nevin, Robyn Schneider, and Jandy Nelson.

Emily has always been the kind of girl who tries to do the right thing—until one night when she does the worst thing possible. She sees Belinda, a classmate with developmental disabilities, being attacked. Inexplicably, she does nothing at all.

Belinda, however, manages to save herself. When their high school finds out what happened, Emily and Lucas, a football player who was also there that night, are required to perform community service at a center for disabled people. Soon, Lucas and Emily begin to feel like maybe they’re starting to make a real difference. Like they would be able to do the right thing if they could do that night all over again. But can they do anything that will actually help the one person they hurt the most?

Quick & Dirty: A thought provoking read.

Opening Sentence: At our first meeting with the director of the Lifelong Learning Center, Lucas doesn’t speak to me once.

Excerpt: Yes

The Review:

The story is told from three perspectives: Belinda; the disabled victim of a traumatic experience and Emily and Lucas; the two high school students who witnessed Belinda being assaulted yet did not call for help. Although they did not intend to leave Belinda helpless, neither were brave enough to cry out so in the end Belinda saved herself despite her disabilities.

It was interesting to see how the incident affected all the parties, not just the victim. Both onlookers feel incredibly guilty for not stopping the awful act and come together through their community service, where they interact and help other people with disabilities. Essentially they want to help Belinda but is it too late? It was sad that neither Emily nor Lucas helped Belinda when she needed it the most, but it made me question what I would have done if I was in the same situation? Would I have frozen and been unable to help, or turned a blind eye in the hope that someone else would stop the assault? I really hope not but until you’re in that situation you never know…

I’m surprised at how I almost start to cry saying this. I don’t know why, because the play is over and I don’t need to be nervous anymore. I’m not sad about anything. I’m happy and I’m about to waltz dance with Anthony, but maybe happy is a little like sad because I do start to cry.

The theme of this story is not just creating awareness of those with special needs and making people realise that there’s more to them than speech or hearing impairment; it highlighted how deeply these people feel and they tend to be far more perceptive than we give them credit to be. A Step Toward Falling also explores the issue of stereotypes based on first appearances, when often the first judgment falls short of reality. This is explained by using Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice as an example and I found it interesting to see how the issues in that story are prevalent in this day and age.

“Why would I do that?”
“To freak him out. Mess with his head. Those football guys and their cheerleaders have no capacity to deal with anyone outside their circle.”
Richard rolls his eyes. Even Barry has to say, “The thing is, Candace, sometimes you forget that other people are human beings.”
“Not everyone, Bear. Not everyone.”

In this book there are three main romantic ‘pairings’ and what I liked most was that although each couple is very different, the problems they face are all too similar. Belinda and Anthony both have disabilities but their dilemma of being afraid of commitment is something that Hugh and Richard, the gay couple, also face. It doesn’t matter whether you’re a high school quarterback or the victim of a sexual assault; the problems faced tend to be the same.

What Lucas said in the lobby last night has stuck with me because he’s right: Friendships are complicated. Friends have power. Friends can break your heart.

A Step Toward Falling was based on an intense theme but there was plenty of humour to lighten the read. It’s not something I would have normally picked up but I’m glad I did because the characters in this story will stay with me even after I’ve closed the book.

Notable Scene:

My mom says it’s good I was born now not a long time ago because back then they didn’t know what to do with people like me. I think she means people who believe in romance and love, because I do. [Belinda]

skull4

FTC Advisory: HarperTeen provided me with a copy of A Step Toward Falling. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.

sig-DFT

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Related Posts with Thumbnails


You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Comments are closed.

«
»